redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Six Months

The halfway point.  It seems crazy that it has gone by so quickly.  And yet, I feel like I’ve been playing Starcraft II for a looooong time.  My head is packed full of timings, builds, pro games, names, tournaments, and lore.  It has truly become a part of me.  There are very few people in my life to whom I have not mentioned SC2.  Some probably roll their eyes when I bring it up, but I don’t really care.  It feels great to finally have a “thing”, a hobby, a passion.  It is a nightly struggle to turn off GSL, knowing I have to be up for work in eight hours.  My “day off” has turned into a night I look forward to, not to get away from Starcraft, but to be able to watch State of the Game live and in its entirety. I have participated in tournaments (even won a game or two), had coaches, made friends, and been entertained and educated for countless hours (somewhere around 400 I guess).  It’s been great and I’m looking forward to the next six months.  Back to Platinum and beyond (-_-).

It’s been awhile since my last update (I suck, I know), but I’ve been going at it pretty steadily the past week or so, after my vacation.  I have become a bit more addicted to streams and watching games rather than playing them.  It was something I was warned about many times when I started, and I guess it took me a while to finally appreciate the warnings.  I feel like I’m at that point where I can see the differences between great play and my own play.  Rather than getting disgusted at my own games, I watch the pros and higher level players do it all correctly.  I’m attempting to remedy it, playing more games each night, and just letting the streaming take over more of my free time instead of my prescribed playing time.  There has honestly not been a day since I returned where I haven’t watched and played at least 3 hours, usually more.   Take now, for instance.  I have played a couple hours and am getting ready to watch the Blizzard Cup Finals (Awards show is okay, but when are the matches?!?!).  Like I said, I’m loving all of it.

Game wise, I have been feeling a lot better in all of the match-ups, especially ZvZ.  It feels like I’m on my way up, hopefully in this next season.  Once again, I’m trying to focus on droning, with the addition of trying not to spend so much time microing, which was hurting my macro.  It is still hard for me to do many things at the same time and, while I am getting better, it is one of the biggest blocks I have in moving up.  I believe I’ve said this before, but it really is a weird kind of limit I’ve reached on splitting my focus.  I’ve been told it’s something that comes with time and I am better now than I used to be.  It’s just a kind of strange thing I worry I can’t do.  I’ve actually been trying to speed up my play consciously for the last few days and it seems to be working for the most part.  I guess those are the three things I’m keeping at the top of my TO DO list this week: drone, focus and speed.

Goodnight and GLHR.

 

 

10 responses to “Six Months

  1. Alan Pham December 17, 2011 at 11:00 am

    All I can say is, Keep going and I’m rooting for you (:

  2. Henk de Slager December 18, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Still love reading your updates. GLHR!

  3. Stratos December 20, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Hey! I remember when you first got voted into SC2 and didn’t think you’d do it. I come back every month or so to read your updates and smile about how much of a SC2 nerd you’ve become. I myself gave up playing and just watch the pros go at it on streams/VODs. Kudos to keeping it up.

    Cheers to another 6 months. I really hope that you have reddit decide again. I think this was positive and the next one will be as well.

  4. evilsnoopi3 December 22, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    You’re an inspiration! Keep up the awesome job man.

  5. Badges December 23, 2011 at 4:17 am

    Yay, another one! Keep it up!

  6. mistral December 24, 2011 at 2:14 am

    Hey bud, good on you for sticking with it. Starcraft is an awesome hobby and your determination to stick it through for the whole year is pretty cool. I hope you keep at it after the year is up and glhf.

    Also, I’m amazed that you like ZvZ. I just played 4 in a row and got 7 pool + drone rushed in 3 of them from 3 different players. Ridiculous.

  7. ZiggyD December 24, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Awesome to see that you’re not only going strong but that it has become such a great part of your life. I wonder if this would have happened with other hobbies that you could have ended up with?

    Keep up the good work and keep up the posts!

    ❤ ZiggyD

  8. s v (@ke86ke86) December 25, 2011 at 7:23 am

    You, sir, are a gentleman and a scholar :3

  9. Jake January 12, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Yea, havent had an update in weeks. Still at it? Your battle.net profile shows some activity still.

Leave a Reply

