redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

LeTemps Returns

Thanks to everyone who commented on yesterday’s post.  I’m going to go along with the unanimous decision that it was cool to  take a week off.  And I’ll just keep my normal days off.  I guess I didn’t need to punish myself.  I take things too seriously sometimes, especially when I think someone might suggest I’m being less than honest.  I’m even worse about being “correct” online.  Weird, but whatever.  I’m happy to keep going and jumped on tonight and had a lot of fun, once again.

Tonight was a night of basically all ZvZs.  I think there was one Protoss game in there, but it was over quickly.  I am always happy to get away with a ling rush vs. a toss, and with the prevalence of FFE and general FE builds in the match-up, I pretty much try it every game.  A quick 13/13, hatch on 20 after Queen and one ling.  I pump about 16 lings and try to attack.  Unless the toss blocks off completely or walls off perfectly, it is a cinch to run in.  Cannons at the natural mean I just go straight for the main.  It’s fun, has the chance to end the game quickly and doesn’t really put me all that behind.  The lings I can use, if I can’t get through a wall, for map control and to keep an eye on pushes.  I think it’s a good build for the current metagame.

My Zerg games are pretty much a coin flip, which is I guess what it boils down to most of the time.  Early lings can be good here too, but banes shut that down hard.  Roaches, while good for defense, pretty much melt to ling.  It seems I should play a bit more defensively in this matchup, instead of going for the win.  Setting myself up to get ahead on economy and tech is preferable to either a quick win or loss coin flip.  I’ll try to keep this in mind going forward.

No Terran games today, so I’m not sure where I’m at there.  Usually ling/bane/muta.

A quick little story before I retire for the night:  I have actually gotten someone else interested in Starcraft 2.  I’ve been talking about the game to a friend at work for a while.   I finally convinced him to watch a little of a tournament, MLG Providence, and he loved it.  When we were talking about it, he was all excited about it and telling me the stories of players and games that he had watched.  He was particularly impressed with Naniwa.  It was great to finally have someone to talk about the games and players with and do what I can for E-sports.

Goodnight and GLHR.

8 responses to “LeTemps Returns

  1. Henk de Slager December 1, 2011 at 5:00 am

    Awesome! Love for Esports is like a virus, infecting people is fun 🙂

  2. badges December 1, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Nice! Having someone you can talk to and share your excitement about something makes the whole experience so much better.

  3. bobbby December 1, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    13/13 ling rush against FFE is all in. You will be very behind against a good toss that blocks off properly and on less open maps e.g. shakuras

  4. Azzu December 3, 2011 at 4:57 am

    Don’t get into the mindset that ZvZ is a coinflip. It’s just another one of those things people who say ZvP is imbalanced say, because they can’t say ZvZ is imbalanced.

    Nestea didn’t get a 85% ZvZ winrate because he won every coinflip.

  5. Sabu113 December 6, 2011 at 1:07 am

    Been a lurker for a long time. Just want to say keep it up man I really enjoy your blog.

  6. Tony Won December 8, 2011 at 7:46 am

    A ling rush off a 13/13 against a FFE puts you way behind. It doesn’t even have a good chance of succeeding against good opponents. If you’re really that tempted to try all ins, you should be doing a roach ling all in, or proxy spines. But I’d advise you to practice getting a quick third and playing a macro game. You’ll learn way more.

  7. Wdqgdf December 12, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I’m inclined to agree with Tony Won, a quick third should be a more secure way to play out a game vs. a FFE’ing Toss.

    It seems like you’re coming along nicely overall and I, for one, and mighty impressed. Keep up the good work, mate, and congrats on getting a buddy to talk about SC2 with! 🙂

  8. slacker December 16, 2011 at 10:20 am

    When are you coming back?

Leave a Reply

