redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Working My Way Back Up

After spending another few days raging and being on tilt (as one stream watcher suggested), I had a conversation with Combust (he of being around since the beginning and helping a lot), who, after I told him of my problems, suggested I wasn’t droning enough in the early game.   I realized almost immediately that he was spot on.  It’s not a small thing, certainly, but it was not completely obvious to me. Not obvious, because the games were inevitably quick losses or long crappy games where I had plenty of time to get up to my usual 80-90 drones.  Being low on drones in the early game throws the whole feel of the game off.  Starved is a good word to describe the feeling of my early games, until I built up a good base of drones (if I got there).

This was solidified last night when I watched Day9 go over Nestea’s ZvT.  Drone is king in Nestea’s games, and should be in mine.  I’ve been working on it, maybe even going overboard on the droning, but I’d rather lose with too many than not enough drones.  It is amazing how much my game opened up after doing this.  Almost immediately, I felt back in the zone while playing and started working my way back up the ladder.  It feels good and I am actually really enjoying playing every game, no matter win or lose.

Another thing that kind of struck me this week was a comment someone made on SCreddit (can’t remember post or situation, sorry).  They said, “Everyone starts out on an even playing field.”  I had never really thought about it like that.  I know that sounds strange, but realizing that I was not immediately behind or trying to make up for some deficiency I had, and instead playing with the idea of “stay even or get ahead” helped maybe more my mindset when playing rather than my actual play.

Now that I’m droning so much, my minerals are skyrocketing.  Seriously.  Long games can hit over 5000 minerals banked.  This is what I’m going to work on this week, trying to keep myself droning and spending at the same time.  I know it’s okay to stockpile some gas if I’m waiting on mutas, but I’d rather play with the mindset that anything over 500 is bad.  It’s a reversion, I know, to go back and work on this again.  I remember doing this a couple of months ago, but I think it’s the best thing I can think of to help me get better while playing the way I am now.   I may be better at it than I was a couple months ago, but I’m still not good.  So, that’s what I’ll be working on this week.

I will be doing some more overnights this week and the next for work, so my schedule will shift around a bit.  I did a four hour day (of play, then 2+ hours of watching Day9 and State of the Game) to make up for missing a day last week, but I don’t really want to do that again.  I don’t like missing a day, so I will instead be playing earlier, from 7pm to 9pm, on those days coming up.

Goodnight and GLHR.

5 responses to “Working My Way Back Up

  1. Henk de Slager November 6, 2011 at 3:37 am

    I still love reading the updates! GL HR!

  2. Razer November 6, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Hey if you do end up trying to make sure you spend all of your resources you have to remember one thing. There are two equally important parts to spending your resources.

    1) The obvious one. You need to constantly be spending. It can be on units, buildings, upgrades or whatever you see fit at the time of the game.

    2) You income ratio has to match your spending ratio. This is often overlooked by lower league players even though it is just as important as the first point, and it is a usual culprit for zerg who have large mineral banks quickly.

    Let me give you an example of what I mean. Let’s say you’re making nothing but mutas. Mutas cost 100 minerals and 100 gas. So that means that for every amount of minerals you take in you should be also taking in equal amounts of gas. Because a lot of the mainstay of a zergs army is gas heavy like mutas, you’ll see a lot of zerg players taking the gases for their 3rd and 4th base before putting any drones on minerals. You’ll also see a lot of players only put drones on gas for their 4th and 5th until one of the original bases mines out. Those players do these two things in order to try and make their income match their spending as best as possible.

    • redditpickedmyhobby November 6, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      I had this idea last night of taking 4th and 5th with just gas, then moving my drones once I was mined out in main (then nat) last night while watching day9 talk about AriA’s game vs Huk (after writing the blog). And you just confirmed it. Weird, but cool. I’m coming to conclusions about gameplay on my own. :0

      Thanks for the tips. Always good to see you around.

  3. Guesr November 8, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Good work man, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

