redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

The Suck

It’s been a week since I’ve updated this blog, but it seems even longer.  It has been a hell of a week, SC2-wise and other.  As I, a retail peon, head into the holiday season I find myself more and more tired at the end of a day’s work.  Which sounds like I slack off all year otherwise, and is probably correct.  But, hey, I put in work when it’s needed.  Speaking of work, my schedule is about to do some weird things, as I do a few overnight shifts to get ready for Christmas (-_-).  So, I will go ahead and take Tuesday off like normal, but may stream either Wednesday morning, evening, or Thursday afternoon for four hours.  I can’t honestly say what will happen, it depends on how I react to the shift.  Late nights are normal for me, but I have a strange habit of needing like four hours after getting home from work before sleep.

In Starcraft 2 news, I suck.  Seriously.  I have been playing crappily for a while, and my placement match confirmed it by placing me into Gold.  I was more pissed off at this than I should have been, and have been consistently raging at my sloppy play and stupid losses for this week.  I didn’t post a blog about it all because I didn’t want to sound like I’m whining.  I’m not upset at the game, at the other players, or the ladder ranking.  I’m pissed at myself.  I don’t know what’s going on with me or my play.  It’s as if I went to sleep one night playing one way, and woke up to playing a different and crappier way.  Any idea I had of learning timings and builds and suddenly being a diamond player are completely gone.  I know part of the reason I have been playing badly is my annoyance at myself is making me play less.  I will get pissed off at doing something stupid (in one game I somehow cleared my main hatch’s way points so that my drones just sat there at the base) and stop playing and instead go watch some more of MrBitter’s 12 Weeks with the Pros.  I am about halfway through, have learned a lot that has helped in some match-ups, but some of it seems out of date, because of the patches.  But it’s like I said, I know that I’m playing worse, but I couldn’t tell you why.  I watch replays and I can see the mistakes, but it’s as if I’m missing something much larger.  I guess all that I can do is keep on playing, trying to make something work.

Goodnight and GLHR.

2 responses to “The Suck

  1. slacker October 31, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Keep trucking. New seasons often weed out a ton of inactives, and if you’re borderline between 2 leagues, you almost always get demoted. Also, the leagues always seem harder to me when a new season starts. Like, where I was beating diamonds, platinums start giving me trouble.

    It’ll all even out in a few games. No worries.

  2. paulmatthew November 3, 2011 at 3:50 am

    That’s okay. Lately, I’ve been trying the same kind of strategies with the caveat of executing them a lot faster to raise my multitasking skills. I make mistakes I wouldn’t have made if I took my time, but in 2 weeks I’ll be the better play for it. Losing a lot is a necessity to getting better as a player. You got it.

Leave a Reply

