redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

On Making Time

As I have tried to expand my game knowledge of timings and builds, I was struck with how hard I find it to make time for Starcraft II outside of my allotted two hours.  I want to spend more time on teamliquid, learning the prevalent builds, counters and what has been used before and may be worth trying now.  I want to analyze all of my replays, going over them in minute detail to pick out the small and large holes in my game.  I want to study pro games (Nestea, Idra, Sheth, Stephano) in depth and mimic what they do and how they do it.  All of these are things I could and should do, and they would, without a doubt, help me in my effort to become a better SC2 player.  But (yeah, there’s that but), I find myself distracted by the ephemera of the game, and all of those shiny things in life that have longed distracted me from actually working on anything.  Hopping on Reddit for 15 minutes at the end of the night turns into two hours of mindless surfing.  Sleeping in a bit on my day off turns into vegging for a few hours while watching television, dragging my ass out of bed, and then again with the Reddit.

For the first two or three months (not exactly sure where it cut off), I didn’t play any other video games except for SC2.  I feel I made the biggest strides and gained the most knowledge during this time.  But when I started playing other games, I felt like my progression slowed and I wasn’t thinking as much about Starcraft.  It’s not so much that it’s a bad thing to play other games, but that it takes away from what I’m trying to focus on.  I have stopped playing other games, now, as I have been trying to focus more, but, like I said, other things are still getting in the way.  Really, forcing myself to do something is apparently the only way I will actually do it.

So, I’m going to add an hour to my requirement.  An hour of study, be it reading actual game related posts on teamliquid, working on learning builds, studying timings or analyzing replays (both mine and pros).  I have the time.  Shit, I have nothing but time.  I work, go out with friends occasionally, but otherwise don’t have much of anything requiring my attention.  It sounds kind of pathetic, but I actually like it like that.  And it allows me to devote even more of my time to Starcraft.  That desire, to get better, to see this year through to the best of my capabilities, is still there.  I just have to make myself accountable to it.

Goodnight and GLHF.

4 responses to “On Making Time

  1. Dave In NZL (now Aus). October 23, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Good solution. I hope it sticks.

  2. Joakim October 24, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I figure if you force yourself to it, it will with time not be forced at all. I am happy to see your still at it, and I’ve been reading all your posts with interest. You really seem to have great insight in what to focus on etc. All you need to do is just play, you got everything figured out on how to improve and how to move forward in the best way possible, just do it man!

    This is what I do when i feel lazy or pressured: I get rid of all expectations on myself regarding the game and just say to myself; “startup SC2 and press the search for game button.” That is all i require myself to do.

    GLHF
    Joakim, the guy with the big dick and handsome face.

  3. badges October 26, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    I have no evidence to support this, but I suspect the reason you feel like you were making much more progress earlier on in this experiment is that the things you were trying to learn were so much simpler and easier than your current points of weakness. Remembering to inject your larvae and to make units seems lile such a trivial task now but before you probably struggled with it. Also, because of the scope of what you were attempting to learn it seemed like you were making better progress because you were tackling a very large field of small problems which when defeated feel like quick progression but now you are stuck with fewer more ephemeral problems such as scouting and more importantly, knowing what the scouting means.

    tl;dr: Don’t get discouraged by seemingly lower rate of progression, it’s only because of harder problems.

  4. Razer October 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Hey, how is the hotkey setup working out for you?

Leave a Reply

