redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Scouting and Patience

I spent some time today on scouting, as that is what I’m working on this week.  It actually seems to be going well.  In particular, in a game vs. Zerg I continued to poke and prod with lings (okay, I took out an expansion which is attacking, but it was there and looked so easily grabbed), used overlords, overseers and changelings.  I knew pretty much what was coming at all times.  I still lost, though.  I had too little gas to deal with the giant ball of mutas he had at the end.  I think I wasted the gas on ultras and also took my fourth’s gas way too late.  I’m not going to worry about the loss, though, because the scouting was good.

I also had a chance today to play a couple of games against OnYourWifi (link is to his stream), another redditor.  He was kind enough to give me a few games and some tips (he’s in diamond league).  I can’t say I did great (I didn’t), but it was fun and he gave me some things to work on.  Most importantly, I think, was having patience in game.  I wasn’t doing the heavy scout/no attack in those games, but I might as well have been.  I spotted his push and then just sent each wave of units in to die.  Had I waited, letting him slowly work his way to my base and then attacked en masse, it would have been a much better engagement for me.  Another good point was my penchant for just making units to feel safe.  It is nerve wracking for me to just sit there with a few units, waiting for attacks, so I make a few units each round of larvae.  This is cutting into my drone output and has to stop.  Scouting should help me feel safer, I believe, so this is part of that.  Also, I needed to take more bases.  This is, I think, part of that nervousness of not knowing what’s coming.  So, as I’m scouting, and when I have the minerals, I need to expand.  OnYourWifi was saying that some master’s Zerg will have a third by 9 minutes vs. Terran.  Crazy quick, maybe, but at least a good benchmark to keep in mind.

I’ve started learning some of the timings, and continue to work on my notebook.  I think it’s going to be a constant thing I have to go back to, to get all the timings memorized and know what to look for.  Not a quick glance and I’m good thing, but a good long while of studying.  And then the metagame will change and I’ll have to learn what else could be coming and when.  It’s actually pretty cool, because I like that kind of game.  I’ve always been looking for a game that’s deeper, that I can figure things out on.  I guess I should’ve been playing RTSs sooner.

I finally purchased a mechanical keyboard and it came in today.  I have to say it is pretty damn nice.  The clickety-clackety (and that’s exactly the sound now as I type) is addictive.  I went with the SteelSeries 6Gv2  and I’m liking it.  I was actually kind of confused as to which keyboard to purchase and kept putting it off.  I knew I wanted one, but they are kind of expensive and I didn’t exactly need one.  But as soon as the spacebar on my old keyboard started sticking, I knew it was time.  After looking at a bunch of keyboards, I finally just went with this one because, honestly, it’s the one Idra uses.  That is such a fanboy statement, I’m kind of embarrassed to say it.  It’s actually the first time I can think of where I purchased something based on someone else’s use.  Kind of strange, but, hey, I can always say I’m supporting a Starcraft sponsor.

That’s it for now.  I just wanted to point out, 3 blogs in a row.  I’m trying to make myself do this more.  I know I let it slide, and that sucked, so I’m working at it.

Goodnight and GLHR.

4 responses to “Scouting and Patience

  1. lykkin October 13, 2011 at 4:48 am

    so the main way i try to think about coming up with builds goes something like this:

    1)when do i want to win? (this could mean you want a specific timing attack, or maybe you want to starve out the person from expoing and force an all-in)
    2)what composition do i want in the midgame? (i.e. roach hydra, infestor ling, muta ling)
    3)how do i transition out of the midgame, what composition do what i want late game, and how well do my midgame and late game synergize?
    4) how do i deal with attacks before i get to my timing?(this can be 3rax, 3gate, hellions, etc)

    timings kind of fall out of this when you get all the kinks worked out. i think this algorithm works well with at least zerg builds. if you think of what to do if you scout a certain build, you don’t have to think about what to do when you scout it. if you know what to do after you scout something, you can focus more on what signs your opponent is giving, and what it means for you overall.

    of course you also have to be able to click the buttons well enough to do it all in a reliable manner, but that comes with time spent with your game.

    of course i might be just stating the obvious way to go about these things, though i think it is worth stating.

    cheers, mate!

  2. lykkin October 13, 2011 at 5:46 am

    this also seems like a very good thing to look into:

    it will help with the learning to click dem buttons

  3. badges October 14, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Regarding your tendency to make units every round of drones, scouting should help with this immensely. When you know what your opponent is doing you just feel so safe. Also, good work on the blog updates, I love reading these.

    • redditpickedmyhobby October 15, 2011 at 2:53 am

      Yes! Today that really clicked with me. I made whole rounds of like 20 drones at a time. I know what everyone was talking about now. It’s strange, but there’s a lot of disparate advice on this part, because people were always telling me to throw in a few drones as I made units. I much prefer this way. I wonder if it is an early game or late game thing where this would change. I’m not sure. And thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

