redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Going For It

So, I have decided to go ahead and do the MLG next year, at the end of this experiment.  It seems like the perfect end to the year, a way to take the skills I’m learning and use them for something exciting.  Hopefully I can post the replay packs from the games I get to play, along with a couple from each month in a large pack.  But, I’m getting ahead of myself.  There’s still a lot of work to do.

I’ve added quite a bit to my SC2 notebook, but came up with a few additional ideas so I’m going to start over.  I figured I’d let you know how I plan to set it up.  I got a good start from a bunch of TeamLiquid posts (so much information there, I get lost in that forum like I get lost in tvtropes), but want to organize everything in a way that helps me study and see things at a glance.  I think doing a section for each match-up, listing the major builds and their timings is a good start.  But I want to put these into an easy to read at a glance list on a single page for when I’m playing or need a quick refresher before a game.  So, that list will include major timings, and will be color coded to the gases taken early.  This was originally a way someone was helping me with ZvP scouting, and it worked well so I’m going to put this into play here.  A different color for no gas early, 1 gas and 2 gas will let me know at a glance what I’m dealing with in a general sense.  After that, continued scouting should help me out with what I need to build.

After a day or two working on scouting, I have realized I’m focusing too much on attacking and winning.  This is not putting Day9’s way of improvement into practice.  So, for the rest of the week, I’m not going to attack until my opponent does.  I’m going to try and embrace the Zerg way of reacting and scouting.  The losses may add up, but I don’t care.  I just want to get better.  My scouting needs so much work, this is the only way I can make myself focus on it.  There’s no way I can sit there at ten minutes in without scouting, that would make me way too nervous.

I’ll be back at it tomorrow.  Goodnight and GLHF.

6 responses to “Going For It

  1. killercheetah October 12, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    so you stream 12am to 2am?well this sucks i have yet to watch you in 4 months :/ also what time do you stream on weekends?

    • redditpickedmyhobby October 13, 2011 at 2:04 am

      It’s generally the same time each day. I work nights so I like to sleep during the day. Sorry you haven’t had a chance to catch the stream. I will sometimes stream during the day if I’m off, but it’s like once every two weeks or so.

  2. Dravenos October 12, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Hey man! I was wondering if I could add you on skype or something like that. You seem to know ways to look at improving and I’d really like to be able to talk to you about how you do that! I’ll shoot you a message in game or something,

  3. blargarargharagha! October 12, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    Hey, this sounds like a great activity! Once you’ve gotten the hang of figuring out what your opponent can/is making, definitely continue on to trying to use that information for attacking. Half of scouting is about making sure you can defend any pushes that come out. The other half is knowing when your opponent is vulnerable and taking advantage of it.

    • redditpickedmyhobby October 13, 2011 at 2:08 am

      Yeah, I did some of this today in a game vs. Zerg and it worked well. Constantly checking his bases and doing feints to see what he had really helped me. I screwed up with some gas though and lost to a crapload of mutas, but it felt like a win because I knew exactly what he was doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

