redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Thoughts On The Last Week

First off, I find it pretty damn incredible that Screddit is still interested and cheering me on. I mean, perhaps it’s only right since you are the reason I am sitting where I am today, but still, pretty freaking cool.  I also found it hilarious that little old LeTemps’ promotion post was one of the top posts of that day on WordPress with 40k+ hits.  Someone somewhere was scratching their head at that.

The other night, after a few practice matches with some friends that I have played with since the beginning of my year, we were talking about something or other and got on the subject of the game Go.  If you are unaware, it is a great board game invented in Japan (I believe), that is usually compared to Chess in its depth and intelligence (not sure if that’s the word I’m looking for).  I brought up an old manga I used to read that got me interested in the game- Hikaru No Go.  The other two had not only heard of it but read it, and played Go.  I mention this because it is a very peculiar thing for me, both to find someone who plays Go and who also read the manga.  I had this feeling, after that, that perhaps Starcraft II is my home, as it were, in a community sense.  Similar interests, great people, and I feel like I belong.  After a few months, I know that after a year I will continue to play and keep myself in the family of Starcraft.

Game wise, an interesting thing has happened in the last week, along with the promotion, I have become more confident in all of the match-ups.  The promotion actually came on the heels of 4 wins Vs. platinum Terrans, what I considered my worst match-up.  I don’t actually know what’s changed, and to be honest that is one of the most confounding aspects of this game.  I believe it to be because I’ve picked a progression and tech path for the match-up, like I did vs. Toss and Zerg, and that has let me actually play as well as possible without having to think of what to do next.  But I’m not sure that this is the case.  I’m not suddenly winning every game vs. Terran, but a larger percentage of them.  Early hellions is annoying still, as I don’t like roaches vs. Terran, but with a few just to hold them off if I scout it early enough, it’s not that bad of a tech offshoot.  Just as a note to anyone wondering, my build for T is 15 hatch, 14 pool, 14 gas, ling speed, bane nest, lair (generally).  I will go mutas mid game, then switch into Ultras with the ling/banes.

Vs Zerg I’m still trying to end the games early with a mass ling and banelings.  If I face too much of a defense, I can generally move into a macro game, so I think it’s a good build for now.  I try not to go mutas every game that stretches into the macro, but it really seems to be a good mid-game unit, a kind of buffer until I get to Ultras.  Yes, I do Ultras here too. I don’t really mind that it is considered a crap unit, I like it and it’s working for me at the moment.  Build here: 13 pool, 15 gas, 15 overlord, 15 queen, ling speed, bane nest, 21-25 hatch.

Vs Toss I do a similar early hatch build as I do with Terran, but instead of ling/bane, I go roaches.  I get a few lings for scouting, then mass roaches and try to get the upgrades as quickly as possible.  After the lair and roach speed, I will throw down a spire to get Corruptors if I see or suspect Collosi.  Then it’s on to Broodlords.

The depth of this game amazes me, after looking over those builds that I put up.  I mean, even with a set progression, each game is completely different.  A few seconds late on a drone or building and I am put in a completely different situation than I was facing in the last game that I either hit the timing or did it early.  It’s pretty crazy and kind of scary.  I guess that’s what makes it so addictive.  There’s perfection there, somewhere.  I just have to find it.

My first day of platinum was kind of kick in the face.  Game after game of just being creamed.  I remember a similar feeling after being promoted to gold, so I wasn’t too worried, but it did kind of feel like I didn’t belong.  Today, however, I was doing well in the couple games I played after watching Day9’s latest Newbie Tuesday about timing attacks.  I thought it was interesting how he said the viewers that sent in replays were surprised with how well the timing attacks actually did, because it coincided with a kind of realization I had myself.  The other day I realized I was doing well when I attacked and not so well when I sat back for a longer time. It was surprising because of how I was told to, and generally do, play:  macro, macro, hold off attack, macro, attack.  At least something similar to that.  I think I’ve actually passed that point where that is the best strategy as Zerg, and now it is time to do my own attacks as I macro.  It’s going to be hard to make myself change the way I play so completely, but it should at least be fun.

Goodnight and GLHR.

3 responses to “Thoughts On The Last Week

  1. KillerDucky September 30, 2011 at 10:12 am

    There is a good overlap of people who play both Starcraft and Go. Here is the 900+ post thread about Starcraft on a Go forum: http://lifein19x19.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=384 There are a few threads about Go on TeamLiquid too but most do not have updated OPs: http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=89504

    – KillerDucky on TL, yoyoma on L19/KGS

  2. scudst0rm September 30, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    You have the right idea in ZvT with only making a handful of roaches. I still see too many high diamond zergs overcommit to roaches when I do a reactor hellion expand (2-3 hellions). I win 100% with a follow up 3 tank/ marine push if they make >7 roaches. The important part is to scout the wall to see if he switches the reactor back to the barracks after the first set of hellions.

    I think the part about games being alot harder now that your in platinum is mostly a placebo effect. You were winning 50% against plat players, thats why you got promoted. After the promotion you should still be getting matched up with the same level of players, (your MMR doesn’t suddenly jump when you go up a league).

  3. Playaction October 4, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Great to see how you are getting beyond the basics, and now have the foundation to refine your own strategy. This is where SC2 gets really fun imo.

Leave a Reply

