redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Having Fun

Even when working on my mechanics, macro or scouting, it is still a lot of fun just to play this game.  Massing a roach army with corruptors and watching a protoss deathball disintegrate is a great feeling.  Successfully holding off an early pool, even to lose a while later when I got greedy, makes me grin like a fool.  And I don’t even have to mention, but I will, watching Day9 joke around and teach a lot too.  I don’t know where I was going with this, but after playing tonight I was in a great mood and wanted to share.  I had actually started the night kind of off, after a long day of work, but throw in a Newbie Tuesday and some good games and I am feeling good.

I have also recently discovered the Mafia custom game in SC2.  It is a hilarious way to kill an hour or two.  It’s not actually still an RTS, but more like one of those dinner party murder mystery games with a bunch of online trolls.  Hilarity. I’m not using the time I play this variant as part of my focusing on SC2, it’s just a fun little one off.

There’s not much else going at the moment, and it feels kind of boring to continue with the “work on something, watch videos, play, work on something, play, watch videos” updates.  I wish I knew more of what to write here.  I’ve already proved I’m not good with the daily updates.  Anyways, I’m just going to write where I’m at right now.

In the match-ups, my ZvP feels like my strongest.  I can usually build up quick enough to counteract a deathball.  I haven’t seen many four gates recently, so I’m not sure how I’d handle that at the moment, but I feel like I play my best vs. Toss.  Next would be my ZvZ.  It feels kind of funny saying that, considering how much trouble I used to have.  But I do have to admit that I’m kind of playing a cheese currently, going mass ling to try and end the game quickly.  It’s still fun, which is why I’m still playing it this way, but I should probably start looking for another build to use.  Finally, there’s my ZvT.  God, do I hate this match up right now.  If it’s not a bunker rush, it’s quick hellions into cloaked banshees.  If I can get to the late game, I can usually find a way to win.  But there’s that problem of making it there.

I started out this week trying to focus on continuing to check for my opponent’s expansions.  It honestly is harder than I thought to keep myself coming back to this.  I’ve done the lings at expos, and some overlords, but mid-game, in a place where I forgot or my opponent went through and killed out the scouts, I lose track.  I’m thinking more mutas to do a constant harass and check of the expansions.  This will add more micro to my game, which I know I need to work on, but I think that since this is my focus, it will be good to at least try.  And it doesn’t matter if I lose, as long as I keep scouting

Goodnight and GLHR.

3 responses to “Having Fun

  1. John L. September 16, 2011 at 8:46 am

    The habit that I have gotten into is to send a unit off into the distance by right clicking on the mini-map, then press p to patrol, then shift-click on two or three more locations on the minimap.

    This causes the unit to patrol those areas and normally is pretty good at scouting when there is a hidden expansion (I do it for the two extra locations around the 5-7 minute mark).

    I’m only silver league, so I’m not sure how this will work out at higher leagues (In fact, as people’s armies get larger, I can guess that this will become more difficult to the point it might get shut down entirely.

  2. nix September 17, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Keep it up! 🙂

  3. Patrick Guilbert (@PeeJeff) September 19, 2011 at 6:27 am

    Don’t give up man, you are learning fast 🙂

Leave a Reply

