redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

On Progression

I feel like I’m back where I was when I was sitting in the top 10 of Silver, like I’m stagnating again.  And, really thinking about it, I don’t know that I actually am, or even was, stagnating.  It’s more of reaching a cusp, and then just playing through it.  There’s no real big mystery that will instantly catapult me into a higher league.  I’m not going to find a build or way of doing something that will make me into a better player.  I just have to keep playing, keep spending my $, keep my supply up, make units at the right time, and make small adjustments to my game and I will get better.

As it is, I’m thinking more about the game.  And not in a vague way, either, but specifically, situation wise.   It’s helped me somewhat, realizing that I should be getting higher tech more often and expanding more often.  Thinking about specifics and what my opponents have done vs. what I have done is letting me react when those situations come up again.  I guess this is what everyone meant when they told me just to play a lot of games to get better.  I’m still surprised sometimes (twice tonight, in fact- a lot of marines and marauders in one and then a lot of Immortals pretty quickly in another), but usually I can respond to what I scout.  And scouting has become a bigger part of my game.  I still don’t understand it all, but I can generally find out what I need to know.  And it feels good to be getting to that point.  I’m not annoyed with the cusp I seem to have reached, but just looking to see what I can improve.

I think a lot of improving is going to be learning the timings of the races.  I read somewhere that the main difference between Gold and Platinum is knowing those timings.  I don’t really have a head for numbers, and have been kind of dreading this part of learning.  I’m going to have to sit down and figure out what I need to know about these, and how to apply the knowledge in a game.  That’s my next vague goal.

Supply is nearing it’s end at the top of my focus, though it won’t drop down too far.  I have gotten in the habit of checking it and my minerals a lot more frequently, after these two weeks of kicking myself every time I forget.  My next specific goal is continuing to check for my opponent’s expansions.  Day9 made a big deal of this in one of his videos I watched, stating that is was near the top of his mental checklist, so I figure it should be at the top of mine too.  Right now, it’s sort of a vague, “Oh, I should check that” when I have a few seconds and a free unit or two.  I try to keep overlords on the expansions, but don’t always.  A few lings burrowed at the closest expos to my opponent was a suggestion given to me and I will try it out.  I also have been wanting to give the Nydus worms a try. I don’t think I’ve used one yet in a game, and I’m going to try to find an excuse.  Maybe a day of Nydus worms next week.  Should be at least fun to try.

Goodnight and GLHF.

4 responses to “On Progression

  1. Henk de Slager September 12, 2011 at 8:45 am

    You might be interested in “The grass is always greener”, a show in which a good protoss and a good zerg player learn each others races by coaching (and making fun of) each other. You can view it at esl.tv.

  2. Cameron September 12, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Awesome work man

Leave a Reply

