redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Day Off Thoughts

I took my day off for the week today (Tuesday), getting myself back on the original schedule and taking a break from beating up on myself.  I had a kind of crap day yesterday, play wise, and wasn’t in a good frame of mind.  Honestly, yesterday I was just bored.  I was tired of doing the same thing over and over again.  I had one of those crawling-up-the-wall feelings while staring at yet another loading screen.  So, I jumped to the challenges for a while to finish off my two hours for the day.  After that I checked the blog, ostensibly to write a post, but instead found a comment by Lykkin pointing me to a newer Day9 video about gold league improvement.  Once again, Day9 has the answer.

On a side note, there is something about Day9 that instantly puts me in a better mind frame.  His good cheer is incredibly infectious and never fails to pull me from a slump.  I for some reason just envisioned a portrait of him like the virgin mary (golden halo behind him, etc.) with the tag-line “Patron Saint of Gamers”.  Perhaps that’s just too much reddit talking.  I digress.

For the next week, I’m going to put supply at the top of my prioritizing list.  This has been a constant problem, and incredibly annoying to say the least.  So, no matter if I lose every game for the week, I will not become supply blocked.  This includes not making six overlords at a time and making an extra before I sacrifice one to scout.  In all honesty, this is really kind of going back to what my original coach had me do, focus on one thing, but I’m having to keep track of myself instead of someone scolding me after each game.  So, even if I lose, I will consider it a win if I can keep up with my supply.  After the week of not caring about the wins, I will try to work my way back up to top 8 gold for the next week.  After that, I’ll pick something else to move up in prioritization.  Probably keeping an eye on opponent’s expansions, as Day9 made a big deal about this in his video, but we shall see.

I will be back at it tomorrow, so goodnight and GLHR.

 

3 responses to “Day Off Thoughts

  1. scudst0rm August 31, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    On the topic of keeping an eye on expansions, try burrowing a ling a each expo. It reqires a bit of extraneous tech (burrow) but it can be alot of fun. This is because lower level players have a lot of trouble with burrowed lings. When you go to build over a burrowed unit it wont give you a red square, but when the constructing worker gets there he will just stop. I’ve seen alot of players complain the game is bugged because he cant expand.

    My most memorable 3v3 was one where I burrowed a ling at each natural of the other team. As a result, they ALL build their expansions 4 spaces farther from the mineral lines. I had a big banana grin on my face for the rest of that game 😀

    • Garg27 August 31, 2011 at 4:07 pm

      A million times this. Especially at lower levels, you don’t even need to rush to get burrow, you just need to remember to get it reasonably early on. If you are using a good amount of roaches, this is an upgrade that you should be investing in anyway.

      Another fun trick that I have seen a few times is not to block the placement of the building with a ling, but to bury two or three banelings right in front of the minerals (only on the next expansion as you WILL only get away with this once). You can see as soon as they expand, let them build up their workers and decimate them.

  2. Claus September 1, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Another great day9 hint is to set apart a day to just fool around in the game. Play some 4x4s, some FFA, play off-race, try to get that last single-player achievement you forgot about. So you can relax a bit when the PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE starts to get on you.

Leave a Reply

