redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Pissed

I don’t know why I got so upset tonight, but I did.  I mean, I’m aware that it’s just a game and doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things.  But in those few minutes at the end of an absolutely horridly played game by me, I got all flushed, my brain ceased to want to actually think about anything helpful, and I started to tense up.  It was like all the patience and not-giving-a-shit that I normally have drained right out of me.  I almost threw my mouse across the room.  I wasn’t upset at my opponent, or any perceived imbalance in the game, but at my own shoddy play.  I mean, for christ’s sake, how many times was I going to dump 100 supply into his deathball?  Why did I wait so long to build the goddamn corruptors?  Why the hell did I not have a ling or overlord scout at each and every base on the map?  Where are the fucking overseers, you dumbass?  His DTs are killing your drones!

I’m annoyed at how much I suck at this game.  I try to work on my weaknesses, but every time I shore one up, another pops up or returns.  Maybe I’m tired, I don’t know.  I’m bored in general, so I’ve been retreating to Starcraft.  It’s been ten days straight of play (I thought I didn’t get a day off this week and kept playing, but that was last week, actually) and I may be a little fried.  I’m going to take tomorrow off, if I can.

As annoyed as I am with myself right now, I still want to get back on and play.  I know I can do better.  I, in general, know what I have to do, but constantly don’t do it in the heat of a game.  My build order can work perfectly, but it’s as if my brain ceases all critical thinking in the middle of a game.  I see a four-gate coming, I build drones.  He’s got a deathball?  More hydras.  O_o  It’s immensely frustrating because there’s no one to blame but myself.

I’m going to try and chill out now.  I’ll be back at it Friday.  I’m not giving up.  Not by a long shot.

Goodnight and GLHF.

9 responses to “Pissed

  1. Alan Pham August 25, 2011 at 4:53 am

    It’s just a bad day and they come and go,
    hope the next few are better!
    glhf!

  2. Justin Etchell August 25, 2011 at 5:35 am

    Yep! It’s a pretty common part of StarCraft and you are completely not alone when it comes to a bad run. It’s part of the fun that is the Battle/Net match making, it wants to make sure you aren’t winning too many games and no one likes to lose.

    Some wise words recently came from WhiteRa. You might have read them already but I’ll link you as a reminder.

    http://imgur.com/r/starcraft/gX7cp

    So simple yet so true, even if his grasp of English is not great. Remember that at least you understand why you lost, yes you might have made a dumb mistake but you understand that the move was dumb. You know you wouldn’t normally do it so obviously you’re just tired or distracted.

    If I’m mad, generally the best option is to take a break, its not often that continuing to play results in a change of mood. Play some custom games (like, modified rules, micro challenges and stuff, whatevers popular and has people to chat too) I was going to suggest watch some VODs but if you’re in a bad mood keeping busy I think is a better option. It goes against what you are doing but I find forcing myself to play StarCraft results in lower game performance. I play when I want to and feel comfortable playing and I usually enjoy my games more and am content with the results, regardless of win/loss ratios at the end of the session.

    When you play, I’m not sure if you already do but perhaps a bit of community interaction would be cool, make a chat channel or something (bet set yourself to busy so that you can ignore it during matches) It’s nice to have people to talk to and venting is great and it sounds like the people that do follow you are a good caring crowd for the most part.

    Anyway bro I’m blabbing way too much, remember: More GG. More Skill.

  3. Dallas Wiebelhaus August 25, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Me to , I’m horrible but I keep trying.

  4. Joakim August 25, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Hey,
    Sounds to me like your are frustrated, and am not talking just about the game. You are just plain frustrated. It spills over into the game yes, but it isn’t necessarily about the game. But I guess staring into a computer screen four prolonged periods at a time does that to humans. Think about it this way: Your an animal, you have needs fulfill them and you will get balanced, sharp and focused. But If you do not listen to your body though you will stay frustrated, its just your body telling you it isn’t content with what your doing.

    I suggest taking brakes when your are gaming, go for a walk, talk with friends whatever. But do it. Start working out it does wonders of keeping the body content at sitting still for several hours. Get laid, or whatever it is that floats your boat. This is our nature.

    I speak from first hand experience about this,

    Remember that If your gonna get good, playing the game isn’t always enough!

    Joakim (the humble Swedish dude with awesome advice)

  5. Scott August 25, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Cheer up dude. If the game is frustrating, you might want to try some custom games for a some fresh fun. There’s a fun Team Monobattles custom map that is pretty fun.

  6. Remaker12 August 27, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    More GG More Skill.

    At the end of the day, remember, it’s a game not a job.

  7. Whippersnap August 29, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Yes good. Let the hate flow through you.

    Now you’re a Starcraft player.

  8. markevens September 9, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Man, I’m glad I’m not the only one with days like this.

Leave a Reply

