redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Jitters & ZvZ

I figured I’d try writing these before I actually started playing for the night, so this is referencing my playing yesterday.

I got home from work last night to discover that djWheat had talked about me on his show yesterday.  The video is here, it’s around 45 minutes in.  I was kind of awed at this, and felt incredibly nervous when I finally got on to play last night.  I was jittery, and playing pretty crappy for a while.  I guess the idea that he could be watching gave me a bit of stage fright, or something similar.  I am not one to be nervous on the ladder or while streaming, but, yeah, this did it.  I got over it by reminding myself to harden the fuck up, as it were.  I mean, dj-freaking-Wheat is cheering me on!  After that I was cool, and even more inspired to get better at this game.

Last night, after a couple ladder matches, I played a number of ZvZ matches vs a friend to practice the match-up.  It was fun and informative.  Informative, as in I suck at ZvZ.  It is very difficult to play someone who knows what they’re doing.  On the ladder, I can out-macro most Zergs if I get past the first few minutes.  It didn’t happen much last night.  I will continue to work on this match-up and even found a great article on the exact subject after going to Screddit after playing last night.  It’s something to work on, but at the same time as focusing on my 3S’s.

Speaking of those pesky S’s, I was still having trouble with supply.  After being yelled at by an observer a couple of times (nut-punches were threatened for each instance of blockage), I had a couple of games where I did a lot better.  Apparently threats work.  Spending was better but still not great.  Scouting also needs work.  I was faked out in one game, my opponent going banes after I saw his roach warren going down.  This wouldn’t have happened if I kept up with the scouting.  So, they all still need work.

Now, time for some laddering.  Goodnight and GLHR.

2 responses to “Jitters & ZvZ

  1. agehn August 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Great plug from DJ Wheat! So how close was he on pronouncing your name? ‘Cause that’s how I do it..

Leave a Reply

