redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

I Hate Thinking of Titles (Gold, Passion, 3 S’s)

Thank you all once again for the outpouring of congratulations and help.  It was so exciting to actually hit Gold, and I’m glad it’s not weird to be so happy about being promoted.  I know it’s a long way from Masters, but it felt like proof that I’m improving.  I am also having a lot of fun with everything.  Playing, streaming, watching games and I finally caught State of the Game for the first time last night.  Hilarious, informative and very interesting to see the players and casters interacting and joking around.  I have a new found admiration for both Artosis and iNcontroL.

Now I want to watch even more of everything surrounding the game.  It’s kind of like I have been thrust into the very thing I was looking for: an all consuming passion.  Starcraft 2, whodathunkit?

Tonight’s games (in Gold :p) went well.  I had a few games where my spending kept up with my producing and overall thought my scouting is starting to improve.  I may lose more overlords, but it doesn’t seem to be that big of a deal.  Being supply blocked otherwise, though (as in, when I didn’t lose an overlord), is still a problem.  I can remember trying to focus on this last month and I’m still having the same issues.  I should be checking every time I inject, but it is something I haven’t been doing.  On the list it goes.

Where am I at on that list, I wonder?  Supply, spending, and scouting all need work.  Micro, especially with infestors, needs work.  There’s so much to do if I want to keep progressing, that I feel a bit overwhelmed.  It’s so much easier to just play.  But that’s only going to help to a point.  Those 3 Ss are my big focus for the next month.  It’s basic, but so important.  Supply- never block myself.  Spending- never go over 800.  Scouting- know what’s coming.  I’m going to try and find a few articles or posts about these, to see if that may give me some ideas on how to improve.  I’ll keep the builds I’ve been doing (15 hatch, gas, and pool for T and P, 14 pool and gas, hatch when I think I can get away with it for Z) and just try and keep myself glued to the top right and bottom left of my screen.  When I’ve got that down to a point I’m comfortable with, I can move to the micro.  For now, for the most part, I’ll stick to the A-move.

Goodnight and GLHF

 

 

 

4 responses to “I Hate Thinking of Titles (Gold, Passion, 3 S’s)

  1. Joakim August 18, 2011 at 7:39 am

    SUP SON

    It really feels like your on the right track, and got good priorities when it comes to improving, just keep perfecting the 3 S’s, things like micro is still a too small part of the big picture to focus on at gold level. And is a thing that comes by itself when ur 3 S’s has gotten better, remember that faster and more automated like u do them, the more time you will have for creepspread, unit control (harass, positioning) and the like, but its important to have these priorities hardwired into you, as a human you can only focus on one thing at a time, make that thing ur focusing on count.

    GLHF

    Joakim

  2. Spacemunkee August 18, 2011 at 11:41 am

    How many games a day do you play on average?

  3. dodgepong August 18, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Unrelated to this post: if you see this in time, you are about to be discussed by djWHEAT and Chill on Weapon of Choice. You can watch at http://twitch.tv/onemoregametv — the show goes from 7pm EDT to 8:30pm EDT.

    If you message djWHEAT (add him on Skype: djwheat) he might even have you on the show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

