redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Back At It

So, I’m back after a bit of a break.  It was a good two days off, not playing any games at all.  I did keep reading, mainly Screddit, and was constantly curious like a lot of people about EG’s big announcement.  It’s pretty cool that two of my favorite players are on the same team now, but I don’t know how much I really care.  Perhaps if there were team tournaments like I’ve seen they have in Korea.  That would be cool, probably have me pulling for a particular team and actually giving a crap about stuff like this. But it’s not like I’m going to buy a t-shirt or anything.  Although getting them to sign one at MLG Orlando would be cool.  Damn, I just realized Idra might not be there now if he’s going to Korea.  That kind of blows.

I was playing pretty good today (I started early so sorry to any who missed it). I didn’t lose anything (I am always worried about stopping for a few days and sucking when I return) but it was a bit harder.  It feels like I’m going up against harder opponents, but it could just be my imagination.  And, really, I shouldn’t care about that, only getting better.  Spending is still not in my control.  When I’m floating 1200 minerals at the 12 minute mark, something’s wrong.  I need to spend, spend, spend.  Macro hatches if I hit 500.  Drone hard and upgrade until I need an army.  My problem with this is how bad my scouting is.  I don’t know what’s coming, most of the time, or when it’s coming.  So, how do I do this?  Overlord’s sacrificed into the enemy’s base more than just once.  Perhaps make an extra every 4 minutes and send it on in immediately.  Throw a few lings at their front to see what’s coming and how close they are to pushing.  I have been keeping the Xel’naga towers, usually, so I’m doing okay on that.  And I’ve almost gotten a broad idea of what they could be doing based on what I’m seeing.

I like my early hatch vs. Terran and Protoss and feel it suits me well in almost all situations.  I can hold a 4 gate probably 50% of the time and am good with working on that and seeing what will hold it vs what won’t.  Vs. Zerg I’m still a bit behind.  I don’t know when to throw down the extra hatch or pretty much anything else.  I may just try the 15 hatch on every match-up and see how it holds.  It could probably work on everything but six-pools and the like.  I will go ahead and give it a go tomorrow.

I am doing better on the early parts of my build, in keeping with what I’ve been working on.  Like I said, it’s still a struggle if I try to micro at the same time.  I can end up with a very late pool or filling the gas if I’m not paying constant attention.  So, I’m not going to say I’m done with it yet.  It is still what I’m working on right now specifically.

Goodnight and GLHR.

8 responses to “Back At It

  1. James August 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I feel the exact same way about “teams”. Yeah, EG is a team, but the team doesn’t do anything as a team. The individual players do. There needs to be a team league like Day9’s AHGL, but for the pros for me to care who is on what team. I believe the IPL is doing something like this, but they don’t really get talked about too much, so…..yeah.

    Keep up the good work! Fighting!

  2. dodgepong August 17, 2011 at 12:49 am

    There are a couple non-Korean Team Leagues going on right now: the EG Master’s Cup and the GosuCoaching Premiere League. EG is in both leagues. Also, IdrA isn’t going to Korea until after October, so he’ll very likely be at MLG Orlando.

  3. Azzu August 17, 2011 at 3:52 am

    IdrA said on tonights Inside the game that he won’t be going to Korea until the end of the year, that Korea was the place to practice with all the top players, but with the GSL as the only tournament, he said, the foreign scene is where you got to be for tournaments.

  4. Azzu August 17, 2011 at 4:12 am

    I think (I didn’t watch your games, sorry) that your problem is that you are missing too many injects. Times *8 through your replays and only watch your hatcheries and how they are injected. This was also my problem. I fixed this by introducing some kind of “cycle” in to my play, what I’m doing is:
    Look at ressources & supply (to see how much I have to spend and if I need overlords) —>>
    Look at my amount of larva and use them –>>
    Tap to a single hatchery and see if it needs injecting (I typically have two hatcheries hotkeyed and tap trough them, doing backspace inject on all the hatcheries i have if these two need injections) –>>
    Look at the minimap –>>
    Look at ressources & supply and repeat.

    It’s so important to not miss injects because of this theory I have (I think day9 mentioned this also somewhere)

    In theory, Zerg always has to have the amount of units, so that if you use one full cycle of larva injects as units, you could take on the enemies army. This I think is because one most maps the distance between your base and the opponents is around 1 inject cycle long. That’s why its important to always scout the opponents army size as zerg. Of course there are many game-dependant exceptions, like you could threat counter attacks, thus not having to engage the opponents army directly, or force a terran to siege many times throughout his push, giving you more time, so this is not universal “rule” but I still think it it’s very applicable.

    I think I knew this theory for longer than I formulated it, because there were many many times when I scouted an enemy army and thought to myself, “fuck fuck I need units” and at the point where I said “oh it’s okay again, now I have enough” I had not enough to kill the enemy army, but roughly enough so after all injects used I would have had enough.

  5. jeff August 18, 2011 at 12:15 am

    For scouting, a lot of it is not looking for what the opponent has more of what he’s going to go. I guess just read over the basic openers or go a while playing random, and you’ll definitely get better at scouting.

    Also just try scouting before you make any decisions regarding moving out. Dunno. I’m a shitty player and I don’t play much, but when I do I usually ahve a pretty good idea of what’s going on in the game.

  6. Muscleforce August 19, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Have you ever pondered having a “build order” notebook, or something along those lines? I’m not sure if I’ve ever read about you doing something like that. Might assist you in detecting what you want to do in response, as well as what your oponents are up to. Even if you can’t scout it all, you might be able to tell the signs of their behaviour if you have a more concrete notion of what they’re up to.

    Given that you’re in gold, I don’t know if writing down build orders for the different races at the highest level would be the best, but if you just do it with your own replays at the level you’re at you might get some advantages from it. Artosis put up a video about his own build order notebook a couple of weeks back:

Leave a Reply

