redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

First Day of Replay Watching

I watched two replays tonight, looking for the earliest mistake I was making.  In the first one, I saw that my hatch (at 15 is when I’m doing it in P and T games) was about ten game seconds late.  I started correcting this in the next game I played and then reviewed that game.  In that one, I was late on my 13 and 14 drones.  There were 20+ extra minerals when I did each of them.  I should probably pick one of these to work on, but I think that getting the exact timing on this early hatch build will be beneficial.  So, in that vein, I will be working on the timings from the beginning to 15.  It’s small enough, I think, that I can pick out when I don’t do this in my games tomorrow and it’s not going to make me lose focus on the game at hand because it’s so early.

So, for tomorrow:  Exact timings up to 15 supply.

Goodnight and GLHF.

5 responses to “First Day of Replay Watching

  1. sean August 10, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Those issues you listed were minor and would not make that much of a difference at your level. Focus on bigger issues such as not getting so much gas so early. Stay on 1 gas til lair, then you may get 1 or 2 additional geysers. Only get 4 geysers if you are planning on going mutas immediately.

  2. badges August 10, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Hey man, don’t get so caught up in little issues like that. Those type of things are what separate a masters player from grandmasters but right now don’t mean much. One exercise that you might find useful is to hop on a game against an AI and try to max while expanding at good times as fast as possible. With mass roach you should be able to get to three bases and 200/200 just after the 14 min mark in-game. You’re gonna want to look at your queen energy during the replay and make sure it never goes above 26-7 the entire game. Also spread creep with an additional one to two queens, don’t worry about the energy on these so much. Remember that these are esentially ideal conditions so don’t beat yourself up if you miss a few injects in a real game. Glhfr.

  3. heyy0 August 11, 2011 at 1:26 am

    good luck bro

  4. Anon August 11, 2011 at 2:37 am

    tt. Firstly, i’m really glad you’re still doing this – haven’t seen much updates on reddit. Secondly, you guys are giving terrible advice (either too specific or telling him to not get caught up about early game timings which are vital). Fixing your timings are exactly you should be doing. As badges said single player is excellent at correcting these sort of mistake. When you say late I wish I could check – because you should be sending your units to the location you wish to build EARLY so that when they reach that location they will immediately start building. I know with 15/15 on most maps you send the drones when you are floating around ~190 minerals to make the expansion. I recommend as you get better that you read some material which gives you the right mindset in gaming. I personally recommend Sirlin’s Playing to win(general gaming mindset), Ver’s guide of How to Improve(located in broodwar strategy forum on TL) – perhaps Cecil’s one if you’re having trouble applying it (http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=208343).

    Cheers and gl.

  5. Tetelestia.936 August 11, 2011 at 10:35 am

    I’m trying to do something like this right now, not perfect timings but just being on time. I’m trying to be able to keep up with early base macro while actively scouting with my first lings. I have a tendency to focus on macroing well and leave my scouts idle or float resources while I scout.

Leave a Reply

