redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

2 Months In

It’s been an interesting two months.  I won’t go over everything that’s been written about a couple of times over in this blog, and I’m not going to spend a paragraph or two thanking people (everyone I’ve talked to is awesome in my book). I would like to talk a little about what I’m going through as a player.

There are days where I honestly don’t want to play when it comes time.  Either there’s something interesting on television, I’d rather read reddit for four hours and catch up on everything, or just simply being tired after a long day of work.  But, to keep up with my self-imposed and reddit-enforced obligation, I go ahead and play anyway.  And it takes all of five minutes to become lost in the game. It’s actually strange how much I like the game.

I also find that I’m no longer bored when I don’t have anything to do.  Nothing going on until later?  Play Starcraft.  Home early?  Play Starcraft.  Bored on break at work?  Read Screddit.  I do wish, though, that I would find more time to watch pro matches.  I haven’t been doing nearly enough of that, or watching much of Day9.  I think it’s just a combination of when I work, then play at night, and not having nearly enough time to watch much after all of that.  I caught all of 4 or 5 hours of MLG Anaheim.  It was really entertaining, but I wanted to play instead of sit there and watch.  I wish I could do both at the same time, but that would probably get confusing.

I feel like I’m still progressing, but maybe not as fast as I was in the beginning.  I was reading something about plateaus, and I’ve most likely reached one.  I know what I need to do to push through, and that’s analyze my replays.  I haven’t done this for more than two of my replays.  It is a big problem and if I actually went through my replays I think I would get better a lot quicker.  I’m not sure, though, what to look for.  I know Day9 said to look at the earliest problem and fix that.  But does that work when I’m not working from a specific build?  I’m not sure.

I’ve been doing, for two days, an early hatch build vs P & T that works well and allows me to build up an economy in what I think is a good timing.  But I don’t have something I’m shooting for specifically.  I guess that since I’m mainly focusing on macro and using all the available minerals, I can watch for those spikes in minerals and when I’m behind tech-wise.

I think this is going to be my focus for the next month: studying replays.  I will stop playing around 1:30am, and watch two of my replays.  I’ll analyze and find the earliest problem and work on that for the next day.  If I fix it, I can move on.  If not, I keep working at it.  In an effort to also up my number of blog posts, I’ll at least make a post of what I think that problem was and how I’m going to fix it.  Even if it’s only a sentence, there will be a post on the problem I will be fixing.

I have never really wanted to work this hard and get good at something before, but goddammit do I want to get good, no, great, at Starcraft.

Goodnight and GLHR.

 

 

4 responses to “2 Months In

  1. Vincent August 9, 2011 at 9:12 am

    I know this goes against the rules of the “project”, but I heard that when you reach a plateau at something its good to take a week long break to refresh your brain.

  2. goken August 9, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    “There are days where I honestly don’t want to [do something]… But, to keep up with my… obligation, I go ahead and [do something] anyway. And it takes all of five minutes to become lost in [doing that something].”

    Story of my life. If only I could use this to inform my choices more. It is almost always true that when I should be doing something and I’m browsing reddit (or watching tv) instead, if I were to just do the something it would only take 5 minutes for me to become absorbed in it. I’ve learned that doing something is never as painful or awful of a state as I anticipate it to be. Once I start doing it, I don’t hate it; I only hate it right before I start doing it… What irrational little creatures we are.

    • redditpickedmyhobby August 10, 2011 at 2:43 am

      Seriously irrational. I think it’s a huge part of my life-long procrastination and lack of follow-through. I used to write, but could never finish anything because of this. I’d be gung-ho for all of twenty pages and then whenever I returned to the project, minesweeper would be somehow incredibly more interesting than the work. It’s actually something I would like to get back into and hope this year can help me with.

Leave a Reply

