redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Coming Along

So it seems that my macro is coming along nicely (Stream split because of internet drop.  1 & 2).  Focusing on spending has really improved my game.  Also, my mechanics have reached a point where I’m not thinking about what I’m doing as I’m doing it.  By that I mean, hotkeys and control groups are so much second nature to me now.  I think that this is behind my recent jump in APM.  I know it doesn’t really matter when I don’t know to build lings or roaches in a certain situation, but it feels good to have reached a level of competency on something and have concrete evidence.  I have, though, lost a bit of my habit of watching the mini-map, so that goes back on the list.  It really seems like it will take a while to get everything to work all at the same time.

A kind of weird occurrence happened today/yesterday.  An opponent from last night (the guy who I played in the replay I posted yesterday) found both the blog and stream.  I guess I knew this was going to happen at some point, what with Reddit’s gargantuan reach, but it’s strange.  It makes me wonder if I’m supposed to let other players know I’m streaming.  On a pro gamer’s level, it’s pretty much a guarantee that their games will be streamed by one or both of the players and seen by a bunch of people, but someone in bronze or silver is not expecting it.  I guess it doesn’t really matter.  There’s no real pressure for them if they don’t know it, that’s all on me.  I was just wondering if there is some kind of etiquette involved.

Equipment wise, I went ahead and ordered a new monitor.  I really wanted a new LED LCD monitor, as my monitor is, I think, 5 years old and doesn’t compare to the newer ones out there.  I am planning on keeping it and seeing if I can run them both so I can have the stream and music, and probably Reddit, on an alternate screen while playing.  It should be interesting trying to figure that out.  I’m hoping for plug and play, but don’t think it’s going to work out like that.

I once again missed my off day this week, so I’m thinking about taking it this weekend to watch MLG.  I don’t know that I will, but if I don’t stream a day this weekend, that’s the reason.  I could call it research and just not play all weekend, but that’s not cool and I don’t think I could even not play all weekend.  I’m addicted and need at least a few games a day.

Goodnight and GLHF.

 

4 responses to “Coming Along

  1. Garg27 July 29, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Will this be the first time you watch an MLG? If it is anywhere near as competent as the last one, I assure you, you are in for a treat.

  2. Timo T July 29, 2011 at 5:53 am

    I think it’s perfectly fine for you to stream “their” matches, in every sport you play in RL, somebody can come along and watch you play. Also you’re setting yourself at a disadvantage since people could streamcheat on you.

    It’s actually plug&play, but there may be the possibility that you have to tell windows if the monitor is placed to the left of your main one or to the right 😀

    Personally, I’ll try to watch all of MLG and play in the long pauses that will eventually happen, maybe you could do that, too.

    Have fun either way 😀

  3. OSJP July 29, 2011 at 6:32 am

    I know I’ll be watching MLG all weekend.
    If anyone wants to, we can hang out in the ‘temps’ bnet channel and talk about the games as they happen. Always fun to watch the games with other people.

  4. Chromakey July 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I say it’d be nicer to not say anything about the streaming. As a musician I can tell you that stage fright is your worst enemy. Had you told me you were streaming I would have been dwelling more on mistakes made, and worrying needlessly about future mistakes rather than simply staying focused on the task at hand.

    I suppose maybe you could reverse this too. 😛 Tell somebody you’ve got a stream up with 400 people watching when in reality you’re not streaming at all. Good way to play a bit of psychological warfare with your opponent.

Leave a Reply

