redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

First Days Back

As if a looooong day back at work after over a week’s vacation wasn’t enough, today’s SC2 matches did not go well.  I didn’t lose them all; it didn’t go that horribly.  However, everything seemed off.

For some reason, I keep going back to the Spanishiwa build.  I know it doesn’t work well for me (for the most part), but it’s stuck there in the back of my head.  I can get the open down, up to around 40 supply.  Then I’m lost.  I don’t throw down enough spines, I float gargantuan amounts of minerals, I don’t tech up quick enough.  When my opponent is slow or turtle-ing, it all evens out for me and I can pull out a win, even with some late-early or early-mid (lol) aggression.  But an early push, or a heavy mid push, and I’m done.   So, I’m telling myself once again, I’m just going to drop it for now.

What I’d like to do, and I know I’m probably not mechanically or macro-ly at the best point to do this right now, is have a set build, that is not the Spanishiwa, for each match-up.  I think this will take the guess work out of my mid-game, give me something to focus on and practice a lot, and help me progress overall.  I’m not talking 7RR or 6-pool, but something that will get me into late game, and allows me to begin working on specific timings.  I will be looking on TL and any suggestions you, faithful readers, may have are welcomed. I’m not going to do this immediately, but familiarize myself with what’s out there.  Perhaps even give each build I’m curious about a full day of play next week.  Actually, that sounds like a good plan.

For now, I will return to the way I have been playing:  14 pool, 14 gas, and maybe 18 hatch.  I had a moment tonight where I could’ve done this, but the first inject was finishing so I didn’t put it down.  I thought about it, but wasn’t sure which was worse, having to wait on using that larvae or expand later.  It would help later in the game, and I would have had a larger army to fend off the push that killed me, but I’m not sure if it would have actually worked out that way.  So, now, after writing this out, I think tomorrow I will try the 18 hatch on all of my games and see if I can make it work.  At least this way I’m working on my own build.  Refining, as it were.

On another note, I changed my stream to include mature themes.  I was semi-actively avoiding music with profanities because of not having that setting on Justin.tv, but got annoyed with having to switch songs when I noticed.  I’m not sure anyone cares, but I figured I’d put it in here.

Goodnight and GLHR.

 

5 responses to “First Days Back

  1. Mauricio Romano Ibarra July 26, 2011 at 4:18 am

    Welcome back. finally good to have one blog to read!

  2. Joakim July 26, 2011 at 9:10 am

    You seem to be too ocupied by your little tricks.

    What you need to do is spend spend spend. Work fast, dont try to be so precise, just act act act. It doesnt matter if you hotkey you r friggin eggs to your main army control group if your floating money, get your proprieties straight!

    yours sincerely
    Joakim (the swedish dude with good advice)

  3. Da-Yoon July 27, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Hello good sir,

    I have no advice nor criticisms to provide; I just want to say it’s really really great seeing someone pick up on SC2 from scratch and enjoying it 😀 Best of luck to you in your progress up the ladder.

    Cheers!

  4. Miklen July 27, 2011 at 4:55 am

    Hello Le Temps,

    Im a Zerg player around the same level as yourself, and I suggest you use Sheth’s speedling expand build for every match up. It gives you a fairly quick expansion while getting speed up and 6 zerglings to do scouting with. The best part is that it works in all matchups, people will argue that its a bit weaker than this and that in this and this circumstances, but the thing is, its a good all round build that is safe.

    Anyways here is the build (its also known as the 14 14 build):

    14 Gas
    14 Pool
    3 guys on gas
    15 Overlord
    When pool pops:
    Metabolic Boost
    Queen
    3 Pair of Zerglings
    20 Hatch

    Everyting lines up smoothly, when pool pops, you’ll have 100 gas, and enough minerals for everything.

    You can see Sheth use it on his replays from fxosheth.com – last I checked he used it a lot and did many different transitions after the 20 hatch.

    GL HF!

    • Miklen July 27, 2011 at 4:59 am

      Oh, didn’t read the last of the blog where you write that you already use a variation of the 14 14 build – you should try this one out anyways, its nice cause everything lines up nice and it remove a lot of the when to make what in the early game 🙂

      Also, you can pull 2-3 drones off gas when they’ve mined 100, to get the hatch at 20 faster.

Leave a Reply

