redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

“Scumbag LeTemps”

“Says he’s done with ladder for the night.  Ladders 2v2.”  I thought this comment in the stream chat was hilarious.  I meant done with 1v1 but it didn’t occur to me that laddering still applied to 2v2.  But a good laugh at the end of the night.  And then after reading through the chat, I went on Reddit for a bit and laughed for 2 straight minutes at a dancing dog.  So, I know I’m already pretty tired and I’m going to make this update pretty quick.

Yesterday’s streamToday’s.

I really feel like I’m progressing well.  Despite being dropped down to silver and then bronze in consecutive games last night, it really feels like I’m moving forward on all of my tasks.  When I focus on them exclusively, I do pretty well. So, I’m not going to worry about leagues or wins.  I keep saying this so I keep thinking it.  If I allow myself, I’ll get frustrated with it all.  And it is pretty frustrating to lose to early lings over and over again.  I know I’m missing some small things that would help me, but I’m still working on learning what I need to before I focus on builds and the like.

The 1v1 observer match tonight was fun. I actually got a win this time, albeit with a roach rush.  It was pretty funny because everybody had bet on my opponent to win, and he had been doing the roach rush for a lot of the games.  So, ironic?  Maybe. I can never tell if I use that word correctly.

Tonight, like the chat commenter said, I played some 2v2 after laddering 1v1.  My partner was Espera, a Protoss player who is around my level.  He’s in Bronze, but beats me constantly and I think is at least a Silver level.  We played through all the placement matches and come out Gold.  We’ve been playing where I build, build and build while he controls my units.  It really allows me to work on my macro and keep pumping units out while focusing on supply and the like.  The first two were pretty easy and the last three harder.  He said at least one of our opponents was Diamond in the game we lost.  I like playing these and am hoping to do this more.  I think it could also be beneficial if we switch roles when I start focusing on units and micro later on in the year.

Like I said, a quick update.  It’s 5am here.  Tomorrow I’ll be starting the stream late, probably around 1 or 1:30am.

Goodnight and GLHF.

 

 

6 responses to ““Scumbag LeTemps”

  1. TheRedComet July 2, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Wow, I never knew they demoted people that quickly. I always see it taking many, many games for each demotion. Sorry to hear that. You have a great attitude about it though, so keep on fighting. I’m sure you’re improving a great amount, and this way you’ll get a more gradual progression upward, probably for the best.

  2. Dustin J July 2, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    ZvZ is a strange kind of beast. I don’t play Z so I probably might not have as good of an opinion as someone else, but from all the ZvZs I’ve watched, I can tell how its a bit painful. Just be thankful you don’t have to deal with PvP, because that one is TRULY awful.

  3. Espera July 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I made silver today, thanks for the practice games!!! Also, I’m a she ¬¬

    • redditpickedmyhobby July 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      Congrats on Silver! You deserved it and I”m glad you got it before it was locked down.

      I figured on you being female, but I wasn’t going to put it out there. 🙂 Wow, that sounded all white knight-ish.

  4. Dallas Wiebelhaus July 4, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    I’m on the same ladder as you and I’m a total noob as well but I’ve queuing up as random so i can play any race , add user “Wiebelhaus” or realID “Wiebelhaus@gmail.com” and we can spar with each other.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

