redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Boost of Confidence

Tonight’s games, found here, were a lot of fun.  I got a couple good wins in and generally felt a lot better about what I was doing.

The quicker games, mostly ZvZ, I am still having trouble with.  Mainly, I think, because of being a lot slower than most players.  Also, the early pool ZvZ is killer.  I don’t know if I should just throw an early pool up in all ZvZ or what, but I will keep working on it. Even in those games, however, I felt better about what I was doing.  In one game, I was harassed pretty quickly by some lings, but dealt with it for a lot longer than I would have before.  I pulled some drones, trying to keep them safe before my lings popped and kept going.

In a couple of  games, I was handling, I guess you could say, what my opponent was throwing at me.  As in, “Oh, you’ve got Banshees cloaked?  I’ll throw up some spore crawlers.”  I should have made hydras too, I was told, but it felt good to respond to an attack instead of just watching everything die and have to GG.  And I was having fun using different units.  I actually got a few infestors out.  I didn’t use them well (I should have used the fungal growth to hold the enemy’s units in place), but I enjoyed popping out the infested Terrans to use against Void Rays. And it wasn’t something I was told. I had to think for a second, “What do I have available that will help against these?”  I’m starting to understand more of the game and what I can do.  I guess as it continues, it will be more of what I should do.

On my list of three things to work on, I have gotten the first two (getting control groups and rally points on hatches and queens up quickly, and using the hotkeys exclusively) pretty well down.  I am still having issues keeping my army control grouped, both in doing the egg add and boxing and adding.  I know how useful this is, and it helps a great deal when I actually do it.  But it’s something I forget often and will have to continue to keep working on.

After the ladder games tonight, a few of us played some 4v4 (I had no idea how this worked and thought they were talking about customs where two of us would play the other two).  I had a blast just building and building while the others took control of my units.  It also really helped to focus on what I was doing and not having to worry about attacking.

Tomorrow is another day of laddering.  Friday I will be off of work so around 8pm Central US I’ll be in the chat room “Temps” in game, hoping to do some of the free-for-all type matches I played last week where everyone observes, bets and plays.  It was a lot of fun to just watch games, chat and play without too much pressure.  I’ll be streaming it too.

Goodnight and GLHR.

 

 

 

11 responses to “Boost of Confidence

  1. Bad June 30, 2011 at 5:05 am

    FYI, Hydras are not a proper response to cloaked banshees.

    Queens & spores, and a fast spire for mutalisk.

    • Timo T June 30, 2011 at 5:25 am

      Indeed. But not because they can’t deal with the Banshees, it’s because Hydras are pretty bad against almost all other terran units, which means they will not be useful anymore after you dealt with the Banshees, making them wasted supply/investment.

    • rando June 30, 2011 at 5:38 am

      I think temps is confused. I’m pretty sure the only time I remember anyone mentioning hydras was when his opponent went mass voids.

  2. Henk de Slager June 30, 2011 at 6:19 am

    You’re doing much better than I had anticipated at the start of this. I love reading the updates, keep it up!

  3. Combust June 30, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    glhr 🙂

  4. Fitchster June 30, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Honestly, banshees are not that big a threat. With an extra queen and some spore crawlers they are completely shut down. They only become an issue if the zerg freaks out and throws off their game or wastes money. My advice would be to throw down those spore crawlers and an extra queen and then keep playing your A game. Odds are the Terran will give up on Banshees.

  5. Dustin J June 30, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I agree with everyone else above, spore crawlers + queens are the way to deal with banshees. Keep up the good work!

  6. Dallas Wiebelhaus July 1, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I’m having trouble winning at all , I just flat out suck.

Leave a Reply

