redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

All Day Long

I played a number of ladder matches today (points not working, so I’m still in Gold), a few customs to practice, and changed up my hotkey setup.  All together probably 7 hours or so.  Like I’ve already said, I’m having fun with it and it’s not something I have to force myself to do.  I don’t know that I would be devoting this much time if I was learning the piano.  But I am kind of fried after the long day of gaming, so this is going to be a quick update.

I’m building a lot more, so that goal is coming along.  I wasn’t expanding fast enough, though, not getting a third until very late in the game if I got there at all.  I was given a little general guideline for this today, which is to have a third before ten minutes.  I tried it in a couple of games. One game vs. a Terran I did this but didn’t have the banelings to hold off his attack.  The next game vs. Terran, I had the banelings.  I expanded and I kept building.  I was then attacked with a drop, which took out my main base.  I went after his base with lings and banelings, which worked and I was in.  But after losing my main base’s drones, I thought I had lost.  So, I GGed out.  I was told after that he didn’t have anything else, and with the expansions I could have probably won making just lings and finishing him off.  The thing of it was, I had felt good throughout that game.  I thought I was winning.  Oh, well.  I learned not to do this again. I will take a while and evaluate what I have vs. what he has before just leaving.

The hotkey setup was given to me by my sensei (as I like to call him).  It is a setup that keeps all the keys close, even putting the 6-0 control groups on a, s, d, h, and g respectively.  I was surprised how quickly I got used to it.  I was having trouble hitting the number keys to the far right when I had a number of queens to inject with, so he offered his setup.  This works very well with that.  I’m putting hatches and queens on the number keys, and the army units on the letter control groups.  I will keep using it instead of the standard or grid.  With a little more practice it should be instinctive.

Aaaaaaaand I’m spent.  Here are the links to today’s videos: 1 & 2.  Goodnight and GLHF.

10 responses to “All Day Long

  1. Matt June 27, 2011 at 4:34 am

    “It is a setup that keeps all the keys close, even putting the 6-0 control groups on a, s, d, h, and g respectively.”

    So what did you rebind to Attack-move, select larvae, and build drone? Why wouldn’t you make 6-0 -> q, w, e, r, t instead?

    • Timo T June 27, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Well what happened to those keys doesn’t really matter, what I find weird is that this means you have qwert, f, and zxcv available for all the building hotkeys, attackmove etc. Those keys are cut off in the middle by the control groups, which means you build some buildings with qwer, and some with zxcv?! Why not just move the control groups to qwert so you have the control groups at the top, and all the hotkeys at the bottom?

      I personally use qwert as control groups, v as attackmove and select larva, and asdfg zxcv for buildings, units and other hotkeys. I use v as those two because I’m used to rest my thumb on space in all other games I play, and v is just slightly above it which allows me to access 1-5 even more easily 😀

  2. Jonas Eriksson June 27, 2011 at 7:23 am

    One thing to be aware of when starting off, is that it pretty much always feels like you’re the underdog in the beginning. That he’s just waiting to move in for the kill.

    Then if you watch a replay where YOU won from HIS point of view, you realize he probably felt the same way.

  3. Henk de Slager June 27, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Early gg’s happen to some of the best players 😉

  4. Melkor June 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Just to let you know, points don’t affect promotion. Everyone has a hidden ladder stat called their MMR. If you beat people in higher leagues, your MMR goes up, if you lost to lower leagues, it goes down. Eventually when your MMR stabilizes (you are winning against lower leagues, losing to higher leagues, and 50% win rate against your own league) you will stay in that league. This is why you can win a game and get demoted or lose a game and get promoted.

    Here is a super long explanation of it.

    http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=142211

    Anyway, keep up the good work, looking forward to more streaming!

  5. bobby June 27, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Can you explain your hotkey setup more in depth? Where did you remap the keys that were originally on the home row?

  6. Geoff Curtis June 27, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Yeah logged in to watch your stream, and yeah I was shouting when you gg’d, that was an Idra moment for sure!

    Live and learn not a big deal! I once surrendered a game I had one just from accidentally clicking on the menu (I now have it set so that I can’t). That was early on when wins were few and far between…

    Love the blog and stream!

    -McDeadagain

  7. rando June 27, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Hey, I see a few questions about the hotkeys on here. Since you didn’t really come up with them, you might not know the answers to the big question I see come up here a lot, so I’ll try and answer that question for you and the other commenters.

    One question that is asked a lot is why not have the control groups on qwert. The reason for this is because your hands are naturally resting on a-f, and I wanted to design a key setup that had extremely quick response times regarding your army. Since a-d are army control groups and your fingers are already on those keys, that’s about as quick as you can get when it comes to army response times 😛

  8. HTMC June 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    One of the thing that I only started getting a good feel for after a lot of games was judging how bad off the other player is. I’ve had a number of games with teammates (like 3v3s) where my teammates go “oh man this is over, we got nothing,” and I’ve just taken moment to pause, look at the intel we have on the other team, and then come to the conclusion “yes we’re bad off, but I’m pretty sure they are worse off.” And most of the time I am right, we struggle for a bit longer, and then win.

    Like someone else said, because of the fog of war, it’s really easy to assume that the opponent is always better off than you, but it helps to just think for a second and figure out what their situation is before deciding you’ve lost. And like someone else said, this is a skill even pro players sometimes fail it, notably Idra 😛 So don’t feel bad! 😀

  9. Claus June 30, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Sensei? This is starcraft we´re talking about, you should call him seonsaengnim 😛 (Thanks google translate!)

Leave a Reply

