redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Gold!

I was placed in the Gold League!  Here’s the video from justin.tv.

Stream-wise everything went smoothly, although at first I had the webpage running in the background, and someone had to tell me to turn it off.  I was trying to keep it open so I could read the chat later, but no worries.  I was surprised there was very little lag (I remember one stutter), and my processor stayed below 60C so all in all a good first try at streaming.  I was told that there were a lot of viewers, over 200 at one point.  It did not help that I was told this in game, as it made my hands shake even more than they already were.  The support and interest boggles my freaking mind.

Game-wise, I know I  didn’t do great.  I also don’t know if I will last long in gold.  It was just very cool to get placed there.  As soon as the screen came up and I read it, I was stunned.  If you watch the video, my mouse even stops moving all together for a bit.  Then I let out a “Hell Yeah” and circled it with my mouse. Like Day9 said to, I celebrated my victory and I like to think some of you celebrated with me.  But I will keep what I did wrong in mind.

I won’t go into detail on the matches, there is a video of it, but I will point out what I thought were my biggest mistakes.  The most annoying for me: I KEPT forgetting to set my worker rally to the minerals.  I don’t know if it was the nerves or what, but that has never happened to me before.  Certainly not in three games in a row.  I raged a bit every time I noticed it.  Also, my macro is still very far off.  I was missing injects (although not as many as I used to) and, if the first push didn’t succeed, was generally behind on everything because my focus had gone to the attack instead of keeping up with the macro.  I had been working on the stutter step with the roaches the past two nights and had gotten it down pretty good.  I think I like doing it too much, if that’s possible. But while doing it, I completely forget about tapping to check injects or building.

This brings me to the build.  I started with this roach rush build two days ago.  It fit well with what I was looking for: something easy to remember, an attack point to shoot for, and it seemed to work well.  I won’t be sticking with it, though.  My main “tutor” has another, more zen guideline for Zerg that focuses on learning how to adapt and play a better Zerg game.  I guess I was initially overwhelmed with having to do everything he suggested and so jumped at the first strict build I was given.  I know the roach build works, but it is a bit cheesy, and it doesn’t give me much room to grow or learn.  By that I mean, if that first push works, the game is over and I didn’t learn anything.  If it fails, I’m kinda screwed and have to pull something else out of my ass.  The last match vs. the Terran really highlights this point.

I won’t completely abandon it, but it won’t be the build I do over and over again.  I will instead focus on keeping my macro going which includes expanding and building what units I discover I need with scouting.  This will probably come with a lot of losses, but I think I will be better for it over the long run.  I could probably go pretty far with the roach build, but at the end I’ll just be stuck doing one thing well and not be very good at much else.  The point of this year is not just to win, but to learn something and have fun doing it.

It was pretty goddamn fun to win though.

After the placement, there were a number of people online talking to me and we started an impromptu pick up game on the betting Metalopolis map.  A fun time was had by all.  There was even talk of having a King of the Hill match like this every Friday.  I for one would love that.   It was great to see how others play and have some fun while doing it.  There was cheese, some interesting builds (the Queen Swarm, ahhh!), and a bunch of “Holy Crap” moments.  I think it would also be pretty cool if I stream a match like this.  So, those of you there tonight, and anyone else who wants to play, let’s do it.  Let me know what you think time wise and how to work it, I’ve never done anything like this before.

Goodnight and GLHF.

17 responses to “Gold!

  1. Eduardo June 25, 2011 at 6:37 am

    Wow, Gold! Excellent work, man. Unfortunately I couldn’t watch the stream, but I’m looking forward to it, sounds like a lot of fun.

    I’m afraid you might get demoted to silver so you can fix the macro issues and other mistakes, but I’m not sure how gold league is looking on the NA servers right now.

    Regardless, keep improving!

  2. miked4o7 June 25, 2011 at 7:00 am

    I’ve been reading your blog this past week, and It’s been fascinating. It’s really impressive how quickly you’re picking everything up too. Keep it up!

  3. Garg27 June 25, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Hah, congratulations! I am going to watch the video now 🙂

  4. Azzu June 25, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I’m so sad you aren’t on the EU server 😀

  5. Jacob June 25, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Can’t you just mute the stream instead of closing it?

  6. Michael Stark June 25, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Good job! Now you get to start playing me and my gold league buddies…muahahaha!

  7. BronzeBas June 25, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Hey man, little tip; you can popout the chat 🙂

    Congrats on Gold placement and have fun! 😀

  8. Dustin J June 25, 2011 at 10:25 am

    You have the best mentality of any new player I’ve ever seen. A lot of people would keep cheesing just so they could get easy wins you’ve got your eye on whats more important.

  9. Dustin J June 25, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Also grats on gold!

  10. Kron June 25, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    What Jacob said: All you need to do is MUTE the stream, not really close it.

    We were yelling at you to mute the stream because it was creating a feedback loop and the audio was going crazy!

  11. Garg27 June 25, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    I would suggest one little thing (it might have already been mentioned to you), but it can be a good idea to put your scouting drone on hotkey. That way, as soon as it spots something, you can quickly zoom over to where it is and back.

  12. Henk de Slager June 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Congrats!

  13. HTMC June 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Congrats on Gold! Unfortunately I had to miss the livestream, so thanks for posting the video link. It should be awesome to see you progress, it’s so refreshing to see your mentality for becoming a more well-rounded player rather than just spam out games with the same build. Keep it up!
    😀

  14. Spidman June 25, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Did a great job for placement matches. This might be the first recorded journal of a person getting some “life” lessons from a video game. Look forward to seeing the progress and enjoyed the KOTH games afterward.

  15. Maurice June 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    I think it would be great if you joined the rCraftGaming King of the Hill to see how you compare to other players around a similar skill level. If you prefer you can be put in one that’s lower level than Gold or you can jump right in with the big guys. Check them out at http://rcraftgaming.com/

  16. Dan June 25, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Congrats on getting into gold! I wouldn’t worry too much about getting stuck on the roach build. It’s good to get really comfortable with injecting and handling units on one base before getting too fancy. If you feel you’ve really nailed the one-base roach build down, try making like 5 roaches for light pressure and then expanding and continuing to drone from there. GLHF 😀

Leave a Reply

