redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Awwww Yeaaah

The stream is working! Bam!  Just like that!  Thanks derpaling for the suggestion, Xsplit was easy as hell!  (Okay, done with the exclamation points.)

I’m le_temps on justin.tv.  I will start streaming the placement matches Friday June 24th at 9pm Central US time. Bronze League here I come! (I kid, but, yeah, probably.)

I am hoping to go through all the placement matches tomorrow night, but there will be breaks every once and while (my dog has the world’s smallest bladder). For these games I won’t be talking.  I  had said I would try talking to those who left comments asking for it, but right now I think I would do even worse than I will just focusing on the game.  When I’m more comfortable, I will start talking about what I’m doing and thinking.

I almost didn’t even get on the computer tonight.  Just one of those days.  After a backbreaking day at work, I could barely keep my eyes open when I got home.  But I still wanted to play.  It just took a bit longer to get myself worked up for it.  It is crazy how much I like playing this game.  And now I can finally start on the ladder.

Tonight, I played about 5 games vs the AI, not really worrying about anything but getting my timings down.  I was doing well, hitting almost everything and keeping myself good for supply and my minerals right where they should be.  If the game went long, I had a plan and kept building.  I don’t think my minerals went up over five or six hundred for any of the games.  Now I’ll just have to see how I hold up in the placement matches.

I’m going to be playing as Zerg.  And unless I end up with like 50 straight losses, I’ll stick with it.  I’ve got two builds I’ve been practicing with, and will probably alternate between the two.  Scouting and keeping my minerals low are my priorities at this point. I’m sure all of it will go out the window once I start playing though.  I have a tendency to lose focus when I get into the thick of a battle.  But at least after tomorrow night I can just practice, practice and practice on the ladder.

Goodnight and GLHF.

30 responses to “Awwww Yeaaah

  1. Joakim June 24, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Good luck with zerg, but its a really hard race in the beginning coz of the larvae mechanic, but once you get over that threshold of when you can drone safely and when u MUST make attacking units, its a very rewarding and quite easy race. I write MUST make attacking units, coz its generally preferable to make drones, and try to force a late game on your opponent and only make enough attacking units to survive i the early game.

    If you are zerg here are the maps i suggest you “vote down” on the map pool:

    Slag pits – impossible to get a third, just a cheese and all in map.

    Scrap Station – same, poorly executed map, zerg UP in low leagues.

    Delta quadrant – The natural is wide open and quite impossible to defend, just a bad map in general.

    • Statistics June 24, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Delta is an autoloss map for Zerg and I agree you should have it downvoted. Slag Pits and Scrap (while both terrible maps) I do not have downvoted. The reason being is that you can still rush as Zerg on these maps quite effectively.

      Depending on who I’m playing I will either go 1 base or 2 base roach timing. Both work out pretty well.

  2. wiredadex June 24, 2011 at 7:33 am

    I just want to say I’ve been reading from day1, and I check your blog every morning when I get into work. I think its very cool how you’re starting from the ground up and I’m living vicariously through you. Keep it up! Thanks for the morning read!

    Master’s Zerg here, saying that I’ll be tuning in to watch your games. I’m rooting for you man! GL HF!

  3. slacker June 24, 2011 at 7:42 am

    While as a Zerg myself, I do suggest removing Delta Quadrant and Slag Pits, I think Scrap Station is OK at you level. Mostly because the ramp is large and hard to block off (good for your attack) and because since there are only 2 spawn locations, you won’t have to worry as much with the initial scouting, and thus can focus on your build.

  4. Colm Brophy June 24, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Err well Scrap Station is very OP (and I almost never use that word) in ZvP at lower levels simply because cheese is so strong. That ramp is near impossible to wall off in time for a good early pool attack.

  5. Sinap June 24, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Good luck with the placement games. I hope to be able to watch your stream later on, however it will be 3am for me in the UK so i’ll have to try and make it till then!

  6. Alex Steiner June 24, 2011 at 8:20 am

    If you get less than Plat straight up, I’ll be surprised. Seriously.

  7. ArrrrMatey June 24, 2011 at 8:22 am

    what level of AI are you playing against?

  8. Goblin_gg June 24, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Are you going to be posting the VODs for your stream for those of us who can’t watch it live? I’m also fairly new to the game and I play Zerg so I’d like to see how you approach your matches.

  9. jackhammeriv June 24, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Just saw a saved video on your Justin.TV. 6:37 long ZvZ vs Computer on Metalopolis. I have the following comments on tiny things you can do in the early game that can help you improve slightly.

    Consider hotkeying the first overlord you send out. Helps with scouting and “tapping”. You can watch the ovie vision while having the bottom screen as your hatch making drones. Also you can spend some time individually clicking drone eggs and rallying them to empty mineral patches. Can do the same with the overlord egg to send it where you want it to fly to instead of waiting for it to hatch then sending it.

    Also the drone that makes the spawning pool you can be a bit faster on it. Like grab a drone that just deposited minerals at the hatchery at like 180-185minerals. By the time you move it where you want the spawning pool generally you’ll have just enough to make it. Same with any buildings. Try out sending drones early to make any hatchery/building and getting a feel for when’s too early and when’s too late to send a drone to make buildings.

    Here’s a small trick for you when you sent a drone to extractor but wanted to return minerals to hatch first. Right click him to extractor then just press C. The drone will automatically return his minerals then go to the extractor. Try it out. Makes things easier than trying to right click hatch then right click extractor.

    When in a fight and it’s obvious you’ll win, e.g. 5 roaches vs 3 roaches or 3-4 roaches against 1 queen and 2 lings, then spend that time to spawn larvae, make overlords, move your units out, make more units, etc. Since you’re gonna win the fight there’s no need to spend time microing. Also a good idea just before you attack to spawn your larvae and prepare reinforcements. Like send reinforcements outside opponent’s base if you wanna kill him. Or set up to defend your expansion. You sent in groups of units one group at a time. Should have the second group making its way to the opponent as your first group is attacking.

    Also do you know hatcheries have two rally points? One for drones and another one for other units hatched from eggs (overlords, army units). Good luck.:)

  10. TheRedComet June 24, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Ah, yes! Another member of the Swarm!

    What brought you to Zerg?

  11. Statistics June 24, 2011 at 10:39 am

    The stream looks good. GL on the placement matches!

  12. mysmys June 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I just want to say that I enjoy reading you blog 🙂

  13. Tony B June 24, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Just re-found your blog after only reading the first post in the beginning of June. LOVED reading all the updates, keep up the good (and hopefully fun?) work!

  14. RukKus June 24, 2011 at 11:06 am

    You’re going to get annoying trolls who will trash talk you on your stream. That was in the fine-print for owning a SC2 stream, btw 😉 However everyone gets trolls on their stream, so don’t worry about it and just ignore them. Besides most people go to streams to jack off and tell the streamer “Oh you suck” even though they cannot get out of bronze league, so take the help you receive from the legit folk and ignore the rest 😉

  15. DrSalvador June 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

    I’d recommend you adjust the audio quality on your stream, it’s really grainy right now. I use xSplit for streaming myself and I had similar audio issues. You can fix your audio by opening xSplit, going to Tools -> Settings -> Channels tab -> Edit… -> under Audio Encoding change the format to 44.100 KHz 16bit Stereo and change Birate to anywhere from 96000 to 128000.

    GL in your placement matches.

  16. Miklen June 24, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Hey mate, good job everything so far, I hope you do well with your placement matches! Will you be streaming at times where we Europeans can watch, maybe in the weekend? I’d love to tune in and see your progress!

    GL HF!

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 24, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      Well, I usually end up playing between midnight and 4 am, which is after work for me. Not sure how that works out for the euros. If I’m off, I’ll probably start around 5 pm or so. I will just keep streaming most of my play, so there will be videos on jtv and hopefully I will be on sometime when you can catch it. Thanks!

  17. TheRedComet June 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Now that I’ve watched the video on your stream…

    A few comments: Your actions seem a bit slow at the beginning; there’s a noticeable delay between when you select a larva and when you actually make the drone. If you know you’re going to make a drone, just hit “s->d” without a pause.

    Also, later on, when you attack, I think you went a little overboard with the micro. It’s great that you can execute that properly, but all the while you aren’t making reinforcements or expanding, which is necessary. There is a point where you let your units go (they’re big boys now :P) and get back to your base. Also there are times when you don’t want to stutterstep another time and just let the units attack, otherwise you end up taking additional damage (like at the end when the 4 hydras are there). Then again since you quit so early, maybe it was just a stream test game, so maybe you were relaxing.

    Any other advice looks like it’s already been given.

  18. smokingkipper June 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Don’t worry about how many losses you get to start with…

    I lost my first 31 games in a row (as Zerg). Losses dont matter AT ALL. Just concentrate on playing well, and having a plan.

    For me, my plan might be…get early expo…get early lings for defense while I tech to Muta….once I have muta I am safe against lots of things and can take a third…from there I can choose where to go.

  19. Sturcuuuurft June 24, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Drink the Kool-Aid, Play Terran. We have SO MANY BUILDS

    plus ZvZ is awful compared even to TvT once you hit gold or so, believe me.

  20. nameless June 24, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Good luck! And most importantly, have fun!!! I’ll be one of many fans watching your stream and cheering you on 😀

  21. Dustin J June 24, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Awesome to hear! Having a clean slate is great because you wont have expectations for you to do well (and then be scared of not doing well). Just remember if you hit a losing streak keep trying to have fun with it until you get better. Every lost game is an opportunity to learn.

    GLHF MAN!

  22. scudst0rm June 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    You should get your stream on TL:

    http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=175682

    I think with the following you have you could get a decent viewership. If the mods take notice (or have been following you already) you may even get featured. Featured streams are generally for top players, but this is not always the case (Gordon Hayward). I think with your enthusiast and open minded approach to the game you would serve as a good role model for a lot of lower level players and It would be great for you to get as much exposure as possible.

  23. drizzlelicious June 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Dude, you got this. I’ve only watched a bit of your stream, but you’re doing AWESOME.

  24. rogre78 June 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I’ll be watching you and cheering for you! gl and hf

    Great blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

