redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Closer and Closer

After taking two days off from this blog, it’s hard to get going again (and think of a title).  Where to start?

Monday I was itching to play a few games.  I decided to try the practice league.  Big mistake.  Everyone had told me to stay away from it, but I didn’t understand the hate for it until I tried.  Jesus Christ, is that a slow game.  And the rocks blocking the ramp!  It drove me crazy almost immediately.  My opponent was also playing Zerg, and was I guess used to the practice league because he was sufficiently turtled with a bunch of spine crawlers and happily making mutalisks.  Before anything else. I GGed and left.  I can understand the point of the practice league, but it seems a lot slower than even the campaign.  I won’t be going back.  The rest of that night I played a couple games with a few higher level players, just to have some fun.  I lost but still did pretty good and got a few nice attacks in.  I then watched the finals of Dreamhuk, I mean Dreamhack.  I am really enjoying watching the Starcraft II games.  If nothing else, after this year is up I will have a new sport to watch.

Tuesday was my day off.  I received the video card (Finally!) and my new computer is up and running and Starcraft II looks great at Ultra settings.  However, I do think I may need an aftermarket heat-sink and coolant as the processor seems to run a bit hot.  Not horribly hot, but more than my Google-fu leads me to believe is normal (around 50-55C in a game, 40-48C idling).  I tried re-seating the heat-sink, which seemed a little loose, but it didn’t change much, maybe a few degrees cooler.  I think I should be fine for now, but I have added that to my to purchase list.  I also spent about 4 hours last night playing around with Rainmeter trying for a nice Starcraft desktop, but couldn’t make anything look like I wanted it to.

Tonight I started trying to set up everything so I could stream my placement matches.  It is exciting to be getting closer and closer to finally playing some ladder matches.  The guide I was using worked up to a point, but the audio part of FMLE would not work.  It wouldn’t recognize that there was an audio “device” on my computer and I could not figure out how to fix it.  As it was getting late, I wanted to start playing some so that I could be sure finish my two hours.  I will keep trying to figure out the programs, so I can hopefully stream Friday night.

Tonight I played a few games with a higher level player who was helping me get some build timings down.  Specifically a 5 minute roach attack build.  I think I like this more than the heavy ling builds.  It doesn’t work well against early attacks, but I should be scouting for those and change my build accordingly.  This build allows for that and I like having a specific time to do that first attack, something to work towards.  I can then branch out to whatever build I think is necessary for the matchup.

Like I said, I will try to stream the placement matches on Friday night.  I’m going to work on the streaming programs now, and tomorrow if necessary.  Hopefully the streaming will be interesting enough for those of you losing interest in my rambling posts.  Goodnight and GLHF.

18 responses to “Closer and Closer

  1. Mauricio Romano Ibarra June 23, 2011 at 3:57 am

    Definitely not losing interest, this is an amazing blog. Actually, it’s the only one i read. It’s easily relate-able even though I’m in masters, but it reminds me of when i first started. I applaud what your doing and am ecstatic to have outsiders fall in love with starcraft and esports

  2. derpaling June 23, 2011 at 4:15 am

    Woah, who gave you that guide? Destiny is the only one who uses that ridiculous setup, just download XSplit like everyone else.

  3. Razer June 23, 2011 at 4:45 am

    Dreamhack released the replays by the way. There’s some good watching there.

  4. Mrdoe June 23, 2011 at 9:43 am

    would be awesome if u streamed ur placement matches, would be fun to see how you play! And also not losing interest, im gonna follow you the whole year buddy

  5. Garg27 June 23, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I am definitely interested to watch you when you start streaming.

  6. Sigurone June 23, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Sounds Great, I’m going to be following you, checking your blog every so often 🙂

  7. Walker Hope June 23, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    What’s the link to your stream?

  8. plastk June 23, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    What time are you going to be streaming? Are you on Twitter or anything so you can send out when you’ll be on?

  9. TheRedComet June 24, 2011 at 12:27 am

    So… are you maining Zerg now?

  10. boyinchina June 24, 2011 at 12:35 am

    I just found out about this blog. How exactly did reddit choose your hobby? Was there a related thread?

  11. Fuzzy.724 June 24, 2011 at 1:08 am

    As Mrdoe said, don’t worry about us losing interest, so far your blog is a great read. I plan on continuing to read it as long as you continue to update.

  12. ajanata June 24, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    What CPU do you have? 55°C in-game is actually a bit on the cool side. Most CPUs should be fine up to 70°C or so.

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 24, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      I have the i5-2400. Streaming and playing the game puts me up to between 65-68, so I’m pretty sure I need either different coolant or fan. I’ll get both in the next week, so I’m not too worried about it.

Leave a Reply

