redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Zerg Bootcamp

I received a lot of responses and offers of games after yesterday’s request and I want to say thanks.  The first response I got was from a guy who had given me a lot of info on Zerg a couple nights ago, offering to go more in depth on macro and micro of Zerg.  I thought this would be a big help and accepted.  In hindsight, I should have posted here that I was set for tonight, but I didn’t think about it.  So sorry to those of you who I didn’t get to play.  I know one of you was at least annoyed, and I am sorry.  I am still going to log on tomorrow around 4 or 5pm, and I will play probably all night.

The Zerg bootcamp was great.  Another reader wanted to observe and he helped out a lot too, giving counterpoints from a Protoss player’s point of view and playing opposite me as I was taught.  I think he had a little too much fun destroying me with his Thors and marines, though.

We started with some warmup games, and a bit of instruction on keeping my macro up.  There’s a lot going on with Zerg that I’m still not quick enough with yet.  Injects, expands, and not getting supply blocked are the three BIG ones I will need to work on.  The tapping to different structures is not as intuitive for Zerg as it is for Terran for some reason, expanding so quickly is strange, and Zerg’s way of mixed supply and units throws me off.  I was also struggling to keep my bases fully saturated with workers.   I will be working on it, though.  If I can get one of these things right in a game, I will be happy.

The rest of the night we went over a lot different things.  I’ve got around five pages of notes.  Some of what we went over included: choosing expansion placement, surrounding with melee, choke points, concaves, going after the “tank” classes, and then generalities for the different match ups.

Learning micro was interesting.  Apparently, the last time I had played him, I did a perfect “magic box” with my mutalisks on his Thor without realizing it.  I can now at least do that on purpose.  And use the mutas bunched to take out the missile turrets.  That took a bit to get, but I finally got it right.

There was a lot more that we went over, and I know I won’t remember everything in every game, but at least I will know some of it when I need to.  I’m looking forward to trying out some of it tomorrow.

6 responses to “Zerg Bootcamp

  1. Eduardo June 19, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I’m guessing Zerg will be your main ladder race then? That’s awesome, and although it’s a pretty tricky race to play at first, with practice it ends up feeling more natural.

    Keep us updated on your progress!

  2. Nuclei June 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Keep up the great work!! The inject thing may seem like it’s crazy to keep up with at first but it really does just become habit eventually.

    This makes it so much easier to inject all your hatcheries at once:
    Queens ordered to inject through the minimap will walk to the closest hatchery and inject it.
    Hot key all of your queens (to say, 3.)
    When it’s time to inject:
    Press 3
    V, click anywhere on minimap, V click, V click, V click.

    Also, if you’re not able to use all of your larvae, drop creep tumors!
    If you engage your opponents while on the creep, everything moves faster. It’s a huge bonus to you.
    Lings with speed on the creep? I don’t think anything except hellions are as fast.

    About all I can think of that can be kept in mind without going too deep.

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 20, 2011 at 3:09 am

      I will try injecting like that. I had them all to their own hotkey and had to switch cam to them like that to inject. If I can make this work, it should be easier to remember and quicker! And yeah, I’m trying to get the hang of the creep too. Thanks!

  3. chobosniper June 20, 2011 at 12:35 am

    An important tip is to take everything you hear about how to play with a grain of salt. While it is almost impossible to learn everything by yourself from scratch, you simply experiment a little to see what works and what fits you. Still, at your level, blindly accepting things will probably help you to learn faster, but you should be prepared to challenge these ideas later.

    Also, if you need tips you can add your replays onto the blog. This way you’ll get a wide range of perspectives of ways to improve your play.

  4. dodgepong June 20, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    If you’re curious about what magic box is, this video explains it all very well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68H8FeZHkWg

  5. yel June 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Why is he being taught of Magic box so early? I feel that this guy will just have an information overload. I know you have good intentions but I would have to suggest that you learn to play the game like most of us did. Play with no fucking idea what you are doing. Although I guess it’s too late for that now.

Leave a Reply

