redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

One More Down. Plus, A Request.

Yesterday, when I went back to play another mission of the campaign, I finished the medivac mission where you have to beat the queen of blades to the towers.  It was actually annoying, having to drop everything and even eventually move my entire base when the minerals ran out.  I got the point of it, but it feels like the campaign is going to just introduce arbitrary obstacles to make things harder from now on.  This was extra obvious when I tried the next mission, where you have to constantly move because of the fire.  Maybe it’s just me being tired of the campaign, but I got annoyed and quit out of it.  That makes it 17 missions down, 8 more (I guess) to go.

Tonight I couldn’t go back to that mission.  I watched another Day9, #312, about improving and working on little bits of the game.  Incremental adjustments, etc.  It was perhaps jumping the gun a bit, but I once again came away knowing a lot more than when I went in.  After that, I went back to the first Zerg challenge (still no silver or gold), and then played a few games vs. the AI.  I know, I said I wasn’t going to do that anymore (as a few of you have told me not to), but I needed to finish out my two hours for today.  So, as Zerg, I beat Terran.  As Protoss, I lost against Zerg.  I have fun as Zerg now, after the help I received.  I make shitloads of lings, maybe morph a group into the banelings, and then attack.  If it doesn’t work, however, I would have no idea where to go from there.

I should mention that last night, after I had already played for about five hours, I went over to warpprism.com and was watching Destiny’s stream.  It was very interesting to listen to him and his friends discuss the build and what was going on as he played.  Also pretty funny since the guy sounds like Steve Buscemi, and I then pictured him sitting there playing Starcraft II in a spacesuit ala Armageddon.

The request I have is for a few people to play some 1v1 Saturday after 1130pm (Central US) and late afternoon on Sunday.  I want to get a little experience before I do the placement matches sometime in the coming week.  Also, I want to have some fun and take a little break from the campaign.  Either get with me in game (LeTemps 975), here or on reddit (le_temps).  I am up for pretty much anything.

 

16 responses to “One More Down. Plus, A Request.

  1. Ill0gic June 18, 2011 at 3:35 am

    Re. that stupid mission with the fire; what I did on that is make a bunch of banshees and air units, and then just hug the lower side of the map, hug, move to the right, keep hugging, then go up the right hand side of the map (hug hug) and then just nuke the protoss structure; this becomes easier as the fire consumes the protoss base (which means you have to wait a while and build up) but ultimately it gets the job done.

  2. HTMC June 18, 2011 at 5:24 am

    I’ll definitely be on tomorrow night to help with your request 😛

    Also, you may have already done this, but if not definitely download and install Mumble (http://mumble.sourceforge.net/). It’s a really nice, free voice chat program, and Reddit has its own server. When I play with friends we’re always on our own private server, which makes it a lot of fun, and if you’re trying to learn having the people you’re playing with able to talk to you will probably make it a lot easier than typing everything out.

    Also, do you have a feel for which race you’ll want to pursue? I know some people will recommend random, but I think if you’re going to really work at getting good picking one race for the time being and learning it well is the best route, and then you can go back and add the other two later. Especially if you’re looking to start prepping for placement, knowing your race will help out a lot.

    • jacob June 18, 2011 at 8:18 am

      You’re never going to go back and learn the other races later once you’ve picked a race and stuck with it for a while. You’re just going to end up feeling more natural at that race from then on.

      • Razzal June 18, 2011 at 10:04 am

        False. If you end up liking another race more, you just switch. I myself started with protoss because it felt easier for me at the start, but I ended up not liking it as much as Zerg so I switched. I played Protoss about 2 months and now have much more fun with Zerg 🙂 As a progamer example, Morrow switched from Terran to Zerg.

      • HTMC June 18, 2011 at 3:24 pm

        Ya, although I main Protoss and pretty much only played it since August, for the past two months or so whenever I play non-ladder games I tend to always go off-race, and both my Zerg and Terran are getting pretty good (I would say around gold/low plat level). Still obviously nowhere near my Protoss ability, but still way way better than they used to be.

        I think if you’re really into the game and keep up with it, eventually you’ll get curious about trying all the races, even if you don’t eventually switch.

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm

      I will look into mumble. Thanks.

      I’m thinking Zerg right now, as I’ve kind of been focusing on learning it.

  3. justice June 18, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I added your account, I normally play on South East Asia but my purchase allows me a North American account also so I added you and i might pop on tomorrow and see if I can hook up a game with you, or at least watch one.

    glhf!

  4. Azzu June 18, 2011 at 10:21 am

    The specific examples used in D9 #312 may be a little bit ahead of time for you, but the way of learning illustrated there can be used at any level. Many people skip step #2(“why did I do it wrong”), which is the most important to accurately do step #3 (“how do I fix it”).

    What I would really like to see from you, would be if you could save all your replays. You can monitor your progress and maybe release a replay pack some time later. There’s a very nifty program for that, “SC2Gears”. It automatically saves for you and renames the replays with descriptive names.

    Either way, have fun online!

  5. noisecoma June 18, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Mumble works – so does Skype. I use Skype when I voice chat. It really is a matter of what other people use I guess.

    If I am on – I’ll be more than happy to 1v1. I added you a while ago and would be more than happy to play ya. I also have an idea – maybe we can setup a custom chat channel – RedditPickedMyHobby – for games this weekend?

    As for what the previous posted mentioned about picking one race and sticking with it – it is true. Picking a single race and focusing on it will make you a stronger player as you only have the one race to focus on – random is really difficult because of how different each race (and their matchups) plays. HOWEVER, I can imagine that right now with the game being so new there is no harm in trying 50 games or so with each of them. I wouldn’t feel any pressure right now in “picking” a race right now to focus on.

    GL!

  6. badges June 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Been lurking your blog since you started it, I’ll play you or watch in 1v1s. Oughta be interesting.

  7. dodgepong June 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    You know, if you’re not having fun playing the campaign, then don’t do it. It sounds like you’re itching to jump into multiplayer instead. Then do it! It’s a game, after all — it should be fun. Lots of players only get the game for multiplayer, anyway.

    I’m sure many people told you to play the campaign first so that you get familiar with some of the units and the mechanics. If you already feel comfortable with those, then you really don’t need to keep going if you don’t want to.

    And as for playing vs. the AI, that’s not a bad thing. The reason people told you not to is because it is not going to be the same as playing against a human opponent on ladder. But if you need to practice a build, or get the hang of hotkeys, or practice basic macro, then playing vs. the AI is fine, especially if you are looking for a break from campaign. Just keep in mind that the AI will not use strategies you will find on ladder, so don’t invent your builds based on it.

  8. TripleCow June 18, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I’ll gladly play some games with you. I already added your BNet account. I’m TripleCow.453, also a zerg player, so I could answer any questions you have. I also agree with the guy who suggested making an in-game chat channel. Just to keep things organized.

Leave a Reply

