redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Thoughts on the First Week

Today being my “day off” from Starcraft, per the rules, I am going to write down a few of my thoughts on how it’s going and what I think this year will be like. First, though, a little bit on yesterday.

I played a LOT yesterday.  I was on and off from about 6pm to almost 4am.  I completed four missions.  Two were missions where I controlled a single person (Tosh and a Protoss guy). These, well, I won’t go into detail with them.  I liked the change up from normal missions, but it was jarring.  Each one took me about half of the mission to get used to the abilities and main objectives of the character.  They were more of a hide, then activate special and attack, then hide again.  Probably a really good intro to micro, now that I think about it.  I will say that the cut-scene with the Protoss character and Queen of Blades was crazy.  I would watch a movie of that shit.

I started with the mission where siege tanks were introduced and you drill with a laser.  I was having fun on that one.  I was in the swing of things with macro, keeping up with building.  I even hit the 200/200 about 3/4 of the way through.  I can see how it is said that people who play the campaign are far more likely to play as Terran online.  I’m forcing myself to learn Terran as I play, and when I go to something else like Zerg, it’s a hard switch.

The other mission I did was the one where the Protoss want to destroy the colony relocated from the Zerg infestation planet.  I did well on this one also.  I think I’m starting to get the hang of the basics, at least.  Once again, I kept building.  Only in this one, I didn’t sit on the base as much.  I sent out one army at a time to the three nexuses, while building the army for the next push.  At the end, I converged what was left on the giant mothership.  It’s nice when a plan comes together.

The rest of last night was spent with another player helping me learn more about Zerg and how best to play as them.  We played a few games with him teaching me as we went.  It was fun and very informative.  He had a whole list of things for me keep in mind in the beginning.  These included a macro hatch if making a lot of drones or lings, expanding quickly for Zerg, spreading creep, and scouting.  Most of his advice was basic and exactly what I needed.  Now that I understand a little more of the race, it’s a lot of fun to play.

On The First Week

I’d like to start by thanking r/starcraft, both for picking this game as my year’s focus and for all the help and support you’ve thrown my way.  With the many ‘We’re with you’ messages I get in game, offers of help, and reading and commenting here, you guys are great.  It makes keeping up with this extremely fun and easy.  I can’t wait to play some of you when I start online.

The game itself is blast.  There is so much going on, if I get bored or annoyed with something, I can move to another area.  The e-sports aspect of it is something I never would have imagined myself enjoying, but I spent hours watching the MLG and even tried to get the GLS (I think it’s called) working on this computer with the GOM player (wouldn’t work for some reason).  I wanted to watch it.  I was interested, even after my two hour obligation was fulfilled.  I spend my breaks at work reading through the comments here and going through r/starcraft.  I like keeping up with what’s going on, even if I don’t understand everything or know any of the pro’s names (except for the GG guy, Idra).

For the coming week, I plan on finishing the campaign.  I think it’s a reasonable goal.  I’m at 12/25 for the missions, but someone said there’s 29.  I will at least be very close.  Two a day for six more days will put me at 24 missions completed.  By the time I’m done, I should have received the new video card (and hopefully a new desk and chair).  I will try to get everything set up so that I can start the streaming with my placement matches.  It would be fun to let everyone see exactly where I’m starting at in the leagues.  Maybe I should even schedule it and let everyone on r/starcraft know when it’s going to happen.  I will not be talking, though.  No one wants that.  I have a very monotone voice.  Think ‘Bueller… Bueller… Bueller…’ monotone.  Maybe I should play some dubstep?  😉

23 responses to “Thoughts on the First Week

  1. Alex June 15, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Just wanted to drop by and say that I’m really starting to look forward to hearing your updates.
    Good luck, have fun!

  2. vikat June 15, 2011 at 5:16 am

    When you do stream your placement matches, make sure to put it up as a VOD also, some of don’t live in USA 😦
    Keep practicing and gl hf!

  3. HTMC June 15, 2011 at 5:31 am

    Definitely do schedule the first few games. I know I’d tune in. I honestly think you will be in a much better position when you first place than most people (I know you’ll be in a better position than I was, and I got silver at first). And even if you think you have a boring voice, I think you should still consider talking, in general I tend to find streams where the player is speaking more interesting than ones that are just music.

    Then again, if you can focus better by staying silent, do whatever is best for your game 😀

  4. Ryusko June 15, 2011 at 5:58 am

    The 25 vs 29 missions is because of the missions you have to choose which to do (Tosh vs Nova, save the planet vs burn the planet). There are also some optional/secret missions (wont spoil it, but try to scout out-of-the-way parts of some maps). So, 29 total, 25 on a straight run-through.

  5. davidjayhawk June 15, 2011 at 7:19 am

    I agree with HTMC. Please consider commentating your stream. It’s not at all about your tone of voice, it’s just a lot more interesting and engaging to hear the thoughts of the player rather than just some random music. Either way I look forward to seeing it!

  6. Jordan Kennedy June 15, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I know I’d tune in to your stream my friend! Excited to follow your journey! And yes, dubstep is awesome :D:D

  7. Admired June 15, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Glad to hear your still interested! Starcraft can get complicated at times haha… I am sure somebody suggested this at some point but http://www.teamliquid.net/video/streams/ usually has all the streams and tournaments you’ll ever need to watch in one place. As far as the gom player you can just watch the streams on your webpage if your having trouble with the gom player.

    Keep up the hard work your fingers and macro might feel strange but slowly it will all come together.

    PS. Nobody cares what your voice sounds like… It cant be more monotone than col.minigun….

    GG GL HF

  8. Jay Walker June 15, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    I think the easiest way to watch GSL is to get a ticket. I don’t think you need the crazy gom player to watch a video on demand of it. You should look into it.

  9. bob June 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    can you post a link to your sc2 profile on battle.net? I’m not at home so I can’t access it directly 🙂

  10. Han Siang Phua June 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I’m guessing after your first few games on 1v1 streaming, you should let the community pick your race ;D

    at least we would know the styles of the races better for now.

  11. RokB June 15, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Good luck playing some more. You should probably start learning specific attributes of a few units so you can have a better understanding of what units you’re making. I’ll be happy to watch your stream and maybe you could even play a few games with some of your followers! GL HF

  12. Garg27 June 15, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    When you start streaming, I want to hear you commentate. I don’t care what you sound like, but I would definitely be interested in hearing some of the thought processes of somebody learning this game. It well more than likely help me when I come to finally being able to play this game too.

  13. Claus June 15, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Heh, “I don’t know any of the Pro’s names except Idra, the GG guy”. That was priceless 😛

    Since you are enjoying the videos, try to track down videos of the “Archon Toilet” on youtube. It was a trick that protoss could do. Now on the latest path this trick is not possible anymore, but it is still hilarious 😀

  14. Combust June 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    its GSL, by the way, not GLS

  15. barbedwires June 15, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    to stream GSL you need to use Safari on mac, and there should be a link near the watch live link that will take you to the gomplayer beta for mac, if you don’t wanna watch live you can watch the first set of each match up without a ticket without the gomplayer…to watch the other games you need a ticket and you can either get the ads or no ads

    I highly suggest watching the GSL the games are so wildly crazy and amazing it is a ton of fun to watch!!!!

    gl hf with the rest of your year!!!!!

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 16, 2011 at 11:37 pm

      Yeah, I tried it with safari, but it kept trying to download the player after I had already downloaded it. It wouldn’t work right for some reason. I was told something called dreamhack is this weekend, so I will try to catch that one.
      Thanks!

  16. Troy June 16, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    Great job so far. keep it up ^^

Leave a Reply

