redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

Almost There… But Not Quite

As I opened the multiple boxes of computer parts, my plan to blog and take pictures as I worked flew out the window.  A kind of frenzied “Fuck it, we’ll do it live,” feeling overtook me and I dove in.  I’m glad I didn’t document the build; it was not a pretty sight. (I may put up one picture tomorrow, just to show the horrible cable management.  Seriously horrible.)

Building the computer was a lot more difficult than I remembered.  Two and a half hours of placing a part, unsure googling to make sure I was doing it right, and reading through three different manuals and I thought I was done.  I only needed to connect an old DVD drive from the last computer I built.  Yeah, well…  I wish I would’ve known that newer motherboards don’t come with that particular connection anymore.  I laughed, I thought about throwing stuff, then I just went to fucking Walmart for the drive.

Now I’m sitting here waiting for Windows to install, hoping everything works right and I can play some Starcraft II today. I think I’ve got a long night ahead of me.

9 responses to “Almost There… But Not Quite

  1. RukKus June 8, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Just a quick piece of advice. Not sure if blizzard fixed this in one of their recent patches, but I had a GeForce gfx card fry out on me because of a bug in one of SC2’s system files. Apparently Blizzard didn’t specify a framerate cap for the BattleNet menu in SC2. The gfx card would overheat not in the game, but in the menu! After a couple of weeks using my new computer, my new gfx card burnt out and I had to replace it. THEN I realized about this error. It is very easily fixed, and you can read how to do it yourself: http://www.neoseeker.com/news/14486-starcraft-ii-unlocked-frame-rate-can-damage-your-graphics-card/

  2. Anonymous(Reddit) June 8, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    I look forward to reading more of this blog!

  3. slacker June 8, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    while the controls are essentially the same in the single player as the multiplayer, note that the units are not… there are a lot of units and tech paths that are not included in the multi for balance reasons, so just play the single for a warm up.

    nothing really compares to multi. I say play 10-20 practice ladder matches, then when you have picked a race (terran and protoss are easier to start with), just dive in to the full ladder. The ladder system is great, and after a few games, even if you lose a ton initially, you’ll start getting placed vs. people with the same skill level.

    I had never ever played an RTS before sc2. I wen 1-5 in placement, then when 0-11 in my first 11 ladder games. Then, all of a sudden, I was against equal players and started winning. It’ll happen.

  4. Michael June 8, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    Good luck! When you have an account set up, you should register on /r/starcraft’s registry! Hope all goes well!

  5. Richard June 9, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Haha, I had the same experience putting my computer together.. it had been years and this time around I got really nervous because I had my own job and bought everything myself, all high end stuff that I didn’t want to melt when I turned it on.
    The first time I went to test the final build.. I taped it.. and… nothing happened. :O
    Turned out my power but wasn’t wired in correctly.. I was matching colors instead of following the freakin’ manual!

Leave a Reply

