redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

One More Day

Wow, I’m getting nervous.  The combination of watching MLG and reading r/starcraft has gotten me a bit frazzled.  There is so much more to this game than I realized.  I’m going to try not to worry about it all and just have fun playing the single player this first week.  It will at least give me some clue as to how the controls and different units work.  From there, I think I will jump into the multiplayer around the 12th.

Only about half of the parts came in today for the computer, so it looks like I’ll be building all night tomorrow after work.  I would really like to have the computer up and ready for Wednesday.  I have also come to the conclusion that I’ll need a proper desk to really play this game the way it is supposed to be played.  As of now, I have a small table with my computer on it and a recliner for a chair.  I keep my keyboard on my lap and my mouse on a little table to the side of the recliner.  While comfortable, I don’t think that will work for this game.  I’ve been meaning to get a proper desk for some time, but it’s always been a pain to find a comfortable desk due to height issues (I’m 6’3″).  I’m thinking of this desk and this chair (free shipping is a big plus on these types of things), but am unsure how they would work height wise just from the specs.  As a last resort, I’ll hit Walmart (even though I hate it) to see if they have anything there.  The desk will have to wait until late next week, though.

That’s enough fretting for one night, I’m going to go watch some Day9.

You know, I believe that even without the game, I may already be spending two hours or more a day learning about Starcraft II.  What did you people at r/starcraft start?

12 responses to “One More Day

  1. Timo T June 7, 2011 at 5:22 am

    This is the start… of a new era!

  2. Middle of Nowhere June 7, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Starcraft 2, Starcraft 2, I quit my job because of you!

    Here’s a little video of a Korean guy singing about SC2 to help with the frazzled nerves.

  3. Statistics June 7, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    The single player campaign is good, and it is fun. It is a great place to start. It will help you around the interface – I don’t know how much it will assist you with multiplayer gameplay.

    Before start doing your qualifying matches for the ladder I would do some of the following:

    1. Do some custom games with friends. I think you can find practice partners pretty easily – either through people who follow your blog, or through /r/starcraft.
    2. Do the challenges. They will help with some of the gameplay concepts that you’ll use in your games.
    3. Day9 is a great place to start, and you’re already watching his dalies. If you haven’t already – he has a couple videos about gameplay mechanics (Daily #252), and another regarding taking a build and refining it. Also – any of his newbie tuesday videos if you’re looking for something more specific.

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 8, 2011 at 4:13 am

      I was watching Day9’s daily 256 (I think), the one about getting into Starcraft, and got inspired once again. He talked about refining in there.
      And his plan to improve sounds a lot like what I want to do, so I may follow that in the beginning. I will look into #252 tonight.
      Thanks!

  4. ewicewic June 9, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Look into #100, if you haven’t already. That one is really inspiring.

  5. Claus June 9, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Hey, talking about how we started

    I played a lot of SC1 and BW back in my university days, but mostly with my friends, on the university lan (late at night, when no one else was watching, heh). Then, I never picked it up again until about 6 months ago. My roommate bought the game, and after playing the single player in her computer, I decided to do the same. I started watching for hints and tips at the team liquid wiki (liquipedia), that took me to some you tube SC videos (at first just the funny stuff), that took me to Day9, and now I regularly practice and watch SC as a semi-serious hobby.

    If I can give you some hints, try to get a buddy to discuss the game with (real buddy is best, but could be commenters in your blog or folks at reddit) and skip the “novice league” in the game – you can get the basic commands in single player. Novice league will give you bad habits.

    PatoArmado #451 (caranha on r/starcraft)

  6. soundasleep June 9, 2011 at 8:58 am

    I don’t find “executive”-style chairs to be very comfortable for long periods of time, but that might just be me. I don’t think they’re designed to be used extensively. (That’s why they’re executive ;)) I prefer office-style chairs, or the ones suggested by Joel on Software.

  7. Tomtucker June 9, 2011 at 11:06 am

    New desk & chair? This guy isnt screwing around. I can’t wait for the post “I just ordered my caffeine infused pants, 30APM!!!”

  8. mikechambers June 9, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Regarding a desk, depending on where you live, you can check both craigslist.org and Ikea. You can often find super cheap (sometimes free) used desks on craiglists, and Ikea has some good tables and desks which are not too expensive (look in the as-is section).

    mesh

  9. Ronen June 9, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Check these out as well:
    How to get into SC2: http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/4890848

    The mental checklist: http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/3732340/

    Plugging leaks in silver level play: http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/3651794/

    Hotkeys, APM and Mouse: http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/4712303/

    Drone timing (Zerg only): http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/4210235/

    the last one is if you get into Zerg mostly but still has some good basics.

  10. alex June 14, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Get a chair with mesh or you’ll get hot sitting in it for so long. Also, make sure you have a big desk so you have lots of room. Ikea is the best place for desks.

Leave a Reply

