redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

About Me

So, who exactly is this guy that’s going to devote a year of his life to Starcraft 2?

To start with, I am a 28 year old living in the US.  I work in retail, as a manager of a store in a large chain.  It’s a good job, I’m relatively young for a manager and I can make my own schedule (I work nights, so I don’t have to wake up before noon).  I’m a college graduate, albeit with a worthless degree in the arts.

Video game wise, I’ve played on almost everything since the original Nintendo, a notable exception being PlayStation 2.   However, I’ve never actually beaten a game save for one.  Contra.  This caused some questions when I mentioned it before, something along the lines of that it was impressive if I did it without the code.  Well, I did, but the only reason I did that was because I could never remember the damn code, which is embarrassing considering how prevalent it is today.  I tried the damn code, I tried it every way I could think of.  But I never got it to work.  So I played the game over and over until I beat it.  I have never played a strategy game like Starcraft, instead spending much of my time with shooters and rpgs.  I also lost a few months to WoW.  Lately I’ve been playing on the 360 a bit, mostly RPGs like Dragon Age (made it about half way through) and some Call of Duty when friends are on.

Most of my time, as far back as I can remember, has been spent reading.  Since I was a kid I would read anything I could get my hands on.  From John Grisham to Paul Auster, I didn’t care what it was, so long as the story was interesting and the writing wasn’t shit.  I have just recently discovered the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.  It is an excellent read.

On the Starcraft II front, I chose a setup for my computer, with r/buildapc‘s help.  The parts are on the way, and I will be building either Monday or Tuesday.  Just in time to start the year of Starcraft. I will post pictures of the build and write up the process.  It should be interesting.  I’ve only done this once before, and it was about 8 years ago.

I have also been watching some of the MLG Starcraft 2 tournament.  I was surprised with how much I enjoyed watching the matches.  It looks like a lot of fun.  June 8th is getting closer and I’m getting excited to start playing some Starcraft II!

10 responses to “About Me

  1. max June 5, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    You should set up a justin.tv stream, and post it on teamliquid and reddit. If you’re charismatic, and you try hard, you should be able to get a ton of viewers, support (and cash!). You are in a rare position to become a starcraft e-celebrity, the community is amazing and would totally be behind this project.

    -max

  2. Jawn June 6, 2011 at 3:23 am

    I’m pretty excited to track your progress – please update frequently!

  3. justice June 6, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Glad to see that you enjoy watching the tournaments and what-not. It’s unfortunate but you’ll learn that one of the major challenges and most boring parts of SC2 is learning to keep your macro in check – this is something you don’t really see or at least isn’t immediately obvious when watching pro players. Best of luck and I’ll be following this blog, it’s in my link bar at the top 🙂

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 7, 2011 at 1:07 am

      Yes, I understood some of that from the commentators talking about build orders and when to specifically build something. As in “He’s at 20 and dropping a command center” or something like that. It seems a lot to keep track of and I think I have more to learn than I realized.

      Thanks for following and commenting!

  4. autumntheory June 6, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Just wanted to let you know I’ll be following your progress here religiously, and can’t wait to start playing against you!

  5. Tyler June 9, 2011 at 1:45 am

    You should devote a year’s time to A Song of Ice and Fire. Even if you have to read it three times. The series is bloody brilliant.

  6. Dwain June 10, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Since this is your about me page you should give us your name and where you’re from buddy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

