redditpickedmyhobby

A Year of Starcraft II

About This Blog

On June 1, 2011 I submitted a request to r/askreddit, asking the hive-mind to select something to which I would devote two hours a day, six days a week for a year.

You see, I have a problem focusing on things.  And while reddit is perhaps part of this problem, I thought it could help me with a solution.  To force myself to work at something, I put myself out there with this request, thinking that the shame and the penalty ($1000 to a charity of reddit’s choosing) of not going through with it would give me the push to complete a year of work, no matter what that work would entail.

I had no way of knowing what would be chosen, but I thought I had an idea.  An instrument or a language, perhaps.  And as I went to work, about 8 hours after posting the request, sure enough learning to play the piano was the top voted suggestion.  Hah.  The hive-mind had other ideas.

With over 1300 more votes than the next choice, Starcraft II will be my focus for a year.

A strange idea at first, but the comments and obvious dedication of the subreddit point to something that sounds like a lot of fun, with some excellent people to learn with. I have never played a strategy game like this, but I have seen a few videos. So, I will start with a clean slate.

I will begin on June 8th, 2011, and update my progress on this blog.

10 responses to “About This Blog

  1. Middle of Nowhere June 4, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Would you care to share some of your background with us? That is, stuff like age, country, what kind of job you have, experience with video games, etc. Just general info so we can get an idea of your perspective going into this.

    I hope you can update this regularly, and this doesn’t just fizzle out. (I’ve been there, so I understand if it does.) Best of luck!

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 4, 2011 at 8:12 am

      That’s a good idea. I’ll do that for my next entry. I just wanted to get something on here at the moment, and get myself used to doing the blog.

      I am doing this for a year, and figure to blog at least semi-daily with thoughts on the process, progress reports and match results. I think it will be a good way to keep track myself.

      Thanks!

  2. Statistics June 4, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I thought your Reddit request was awesome. The SC2 subreddit knew exactly how to respond when we saw THAT. 😀

    Watch any of the Day9 dalies yet? What do you think?

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 5, 2011 at 4:36 am

      Yeah, I have a watched a few. He’s very enthusiastic, just what I need.

      And I was watching his stream last night on MLG, it was very cool. I was surprised I was getting so in to watching a video game match. I think it bodes well for my little endeavor.

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. Sammy Whammy Junior June 5, 2011 at 6:30 am

    Since r/starcraft would be most disappointed with any failure to live up to the challenge, the charity choice should go to them! 😀

    • redditpickedmyhobby June 5, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Definitely. And with all the help they’ve given me, it’s the least I could do. I’ve never seen a more helpful, generous community. Reddit and r/starcraft specifically are amazing.

  4. Chibi Jennifer June 9, 2011 at 1:30 am

    I’ve almost played SC2 for a year now (it’s also my first RTS and I don’t really play games) and I found it quite enjoyable (though challenging!). I started at the bottom of the bottom..at rank 100 in bronze league and am currently in Platinum. Hope you keep playing too!

    GLHF on your journey 😀

  5. aquayetiScott Barrett June 9, 2011 at 10:09 am

    When you begin your foray into multiplayer, I’ll gladly play with you and help you improve or even just goof around. My B.NET ID is AquaYeti.896

  6. immatree June 9, 2011 at 11:41 am

    You used “an” wrong.

Leave a Reply

